normal way of putting termalpast on GPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2005, 04:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Default normal way of putting termalpast on GPU

well, i just bought a 6800GT from a friend for very low price, but when i set down to change the fan i noticed that Termalpast was not only on the black part of the GPU,it was also on the green surroundings, so i was worried, would it give any damage to the card?
__________________

SharpJaws is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 06:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

did he reapply it himself or something? AS5 is the worst since it has bits of silver in it, but even cheap crap can still make those little circuits around it short each other....had that happen to a CPU...luckily it only made it highly unstable and didn't actually kill it.

You should probably reapply some and make sure you put a THIN evenly spread layer on the GPU
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 06:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Yeah, really thin. Like a sheet op paper or even thinner.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 07:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Default

how should i remove that past ?
SharpJaws is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 07:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I always use some white spirit, but I heard bad stories about it, but it worked fine for my CPU. Arctic Silver can be a pain in the *** to remove.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 07:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Default

emm, i removed most of them, now what is left is little thin around the tiny little chips on the green part, i am having troble with them

lol white spirit ! omg how is that gona work,? :beard: i am alergic to liquid on chips lol
SharpJaws is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 07:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Well, worked for me, but it can damage it, at least that's what they told me.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.