Noob's 1st build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2005, 09:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Noob's 1st build

Wanna see what people think about this for starters...

http://secure.newegg.com/app/WishLis...IEW&ID=1317591

I have already: Radeon (PCI) 9200, 400W PS, 80GB HD...

With a budget of about 900.00 to work with any advice?

Getting into gaming, but still do a LOT of multimedia, hence why I want to stay with INTEL, and I want to start building as part of collage courses I'm taking as well...

Please be gentle... I handle abuse quite well..
__________________

Nukem is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 11:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

which one is yours?
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 11:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

That link doesn't work. It uses cookies on your comp.

I'd suggest getting a Nvidia 6600GT AGP 8x w/ an AMD Athlon 64 3200+ socket 939 CPU,or even a 3500 for the extra 90 bucks, I hate intel. Who said it was better for multimedia? If you're watching DVD's or listening/downloading music youre not going to notice any difference between an Intel and AMD.

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...103-498&DEPA=1

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...128-274&depa=1

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...127-150&depa=1
__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 11:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Nuke's wish list is mine... and I dunno, just me... I have all intel right now, so I guess I just wanna build an INTEL rig for the first time... This won't be my last one... but for starters...BTW...


Nuke's wish list and it's this:

GIGABYTE "GA-8IG1000MK" i865G Chipset Motherboard for Intel Socket 478 CPU -RETAIL
Specifications:
Supported CPU: Intel Pentium 4(HT)/Celeron Processors
Chipset: Intel 865G + ICH5
FSB: 800/533/400MHz
RAM: 4x DIMM for Dual-Channel DDR400/333/266 Max 4GB
IDE: 2x ATA 100 up to 4 Devices
Slots: 1x AGP 8X/4X, 3x PCI
Ports: 2xPS/2,1xCOM,1xVGA,1xLPT,1xLAN,8xUSB2.0(Rear 4),Audio Ports
Onboard Audio:Realtek ALC655 6-Channel Codec
Onboard LAN: Intel¬ģ 82562EZ 10/100Mbps Ethernet
Onboard SATA: 2x Serial ATA
Form Factor: microATX more info-> N82E16813128222 $86.50

Intel Pentium 4 3.40E GHz 800MHz FSB, 1MB L2 Cache w/ Hyper Threading Technology - Retail
Specification
Model: Intel Pentium 4 3.40 GHz w/ Hyper Threading
Core: Presscott
Operating Frequency: 3.40GHz
FSB: 800MHz
Cache: L1/ 12K+16K; L2/ 1MB
Process: 90nm
Voltage: 1.25-1.525V
Socket: Socket 478
Multimedia Instruction: MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3
Warranty: 3-year MFG
Packaging: Retail(with Heatsink and Fan) more info-> N82E16819116173 $309.00

pqi TURBO Series Dual Channel Platinum Kit 184-Pin 2GB(1GB x 2) DDR PC-3200 - Retail
Specifications:
Manufacturer: pqi
Speed: DDR400(PC3200)
Type: 184-Pin DDR SDRAM
Error Checking: Non-ECC
Registered/Unbuffered: Unbuffered
Cas Latency: 3-4-4-8
Support Voltage: 2.6V
Bandwidth: 3.2GB/s
Organization: two 128M x 64 -Bit
Warranty: Lifetime more info-> N82E16820141182 $356.50
Nukem is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 11:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Are you sure about that mobo?
Micro ATX <-you want that?
No ddr2
No PCI-E
Socket 478
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 11:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

Yes, why would you want a micro-atx mobo? read my previous post I added some links.
__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 12:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Talking

SEE!?!?! this is the reason I wanted to type this out... I told ya'll I was new to builds... My Background is breaking these things normally, NOT building them... LOL But anywho... Me'thinks I'll go with AMD, but I do want something a little bit on the faster side... Your link is for a 2.2, My INTEL is 2.6 now... Hence why I was going with 3.4 I was basically trying to do the copy thing from other around here... but I can't compete with your price ranges! But enough of my rambling, thank you for your inputs and when it's done I'll let ya'll know so you can help me OC it.

Nuke :bald:
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 12:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

Even though an Athlon 64 3500+ runs at 2.2GHz it compares to the speed of a 3.4GHz or if one was made a 3.5GHz Intel. Ask anyone here they'll tell you the same thing. GHz isn't everything. AMD has made there cpu's with different architecture which allows it to get just as much work done as a P4 with a lower frequency.

And plus An Athlon 64 is also 64-bit while an Intel P4 is 32-bit, When Windows 64 releases in about a year you'll be ready for it since your cpu will be 64-bit.
__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 01:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

I don't know much about AMD, YET... But I'm learning... Thanks and that's not a bad price for the product either.. Thanks!
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 02-14-2005, 01:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

No problem I used to think the same thing that why is a 3200 comparable to a 3.2 P4 when it only runs at about 2.6GHz.
__________________

__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.