Noob question regarding FSB speeds. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2007, 05:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
manowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 191
Default Noob question regarding FSB speeds.

Hi guys,

I have the Nvidia 680i SLI board, and a Core 2 Duo 2.4Ghz E6600 (OC'ed to 3Ghz).

Now, apparently, it does 1066/1333Mhz FSB.

Today, I cranked my FSB settings up in the BIOS to 1500Mhz, just out of curiosity (I've successfully been running my PC overclocked at 3Ghz until now). Which now means I'm roughly running at 3.3Ghz (FSB 375Mhz x 9 (multiplier) = 3.3Ghz.

Now, I'm getting a little confused with myself. If my board can do a max of 1333Mhz FSB, and my CPU FSB is 1500Mhz, does that mean my boards creating a bit of a bottle neck? A CPU running at 1500Mhz on a board capable of doing a max of 1333Mhz FSB?

Also, should I be doing anything with the multiplier? It's currently set at its default (9), but with 1500 OC'ed FSB, should I be lowering it?

Can someone please put me out of my misery and explain? Cheers guys.
__________________

__________________
"Heart, faith & steel".
manowar is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 05:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Noob question regarding FSB speeds.

the 1066/1333 are just ratings for stock CPU speeds.

You have overclocked both the CPU and FSB, the FSB is now running at 1500mhz.....there's no bottleneck.

And there's no need to lower the multiplier for now...
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 05:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
manowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 191
Default Re: Noob question regarding FSB speeds.

Thanks gurusan.

So, for instance. If I bought say a CPU which had a stock FSB of say 2000Mhz, and put it into my current board, would it not work because stock speeds are set at 1066/1333Mhz? Or would it clock the CPU down to 1066/1333?
__________________
"Heart, faith & steel".
manowar is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 05:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Noob question regarding FSB speeds.

Quote:
Originally Posted by manowar View Post
Thanks gurusan.

So, for instance. If I bought say a CPU which had a stock FSB of say 2000Mhz, and put it into my current board, would it not work because stock speeds are set at 1066/1333Mhz? Or would it clock the CPU down to 1066/1333?
Well, there are no 2000mhz FSB cpus....

However, there are 1600mhz CPUs coming out soon....and remember that intel runs QDR (quad fsb, so 1600mhz = 400 real fsb speed)

So, if your motherboard supports the actual CPU and you stuck in the 1600mhz FSB cpu, your motherboard would either:

A) automatically overclock itself to 400mhz (1600 effective)
B) run at the motherboards stock 266 or 333fsb...resulting in a downclocked cpu (but you could just raise the FSB manually)
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 06:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
manowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 191
Default Re: Noob question regarding FSB speeds.

Yeah, I understand. The "2000Mhz" was just an example.

So, basically I'm ok running at 1500Mhz FSB?

I'm still a little unclear, though. I've put the CPU FSB settings to 1500Mhz, (3.3Ghz) are you saying that the boards FSB basically automatically increments to 1500Mhz as well? So there's no bottlenecking?

My understanding is this:

1. The CPU has a FSB, in this case a stock of 1066Mhz
2. The motherboard has stock FSB 1066 and 1333Mhz

If you increase the CPU FSB to 1500Mhz, (3.3Ghz), effectively, if your board permits "unlinked" abilities, it'll also set its own FSB to 1500Mhz, or there abouts?

Thanks for you help
__________________
"Heart, faith & steel".
manowar is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 06:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Noob question regarding FSB speeds.

You're thinking about it the wrong way...

Treat the CPU and motherboard fsb as the same thing. They aren't 2 different things that are linked or unlinked.

CPU speed = FSB * multiplier

That's all you really need to know.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 06:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
manowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 191
Default Re: Noob question regarding FSB speeds.

Thanks, Gurusan. So in other words, the CPU FSB is 1500Mhz and forget about the whole 1066/1333Mhz thing?

This leads me to the next thing. I have PC2-8500 (1066Mhz FSB) RAM (4Gb). It's currently running at 1066Mhz (unlinked), do I need to lower/increase this at all in conjunction with my oc'ed CPU settings?
__________________
"Heart, faith & steel".
manowar is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 06:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Noob question regarding FSB speeds.

Just call it FSB, not CPU or MB fsb to avoid confusion.

And if your ram is unlinked then no there's no need to change the ram multiplier...1066mhz is quite fast enough.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 06:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
manowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 191
Default Re: Noob question regarding FSB speeds.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
Just call it FSB, not CPU or MB fsb to avoid confusion.

And if your ram is unlinked then no there's no need to change the ram multiplier...1066mhz is quite fast enough.
Thanks for all your help, gurusan.

Can you explain, briefly, why the RAM is ok at 1066Mhz and why it has to be unlinked?
__________________
"Heart, faith & steel".
manowar is offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 06:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Noob question regarding FSB speeds.

***CLIFF NOTES***
-Since you have your memory unlinked and it's also already running at a fast speed, there's no real need to worry about it....just leave it at unlinked

**************

The ram works on a FSB multiplier just like the CPU...and it's rated at double speed so it's "real" speed is 533mhz while it's effective rate is 1066mhz...hence the term DDR (double data rate)

If your FSB is 333mhz stock that means your ram is running at a 1.6x multiplier (1.6 x 333 = 533mhz, or 1066 effective)

On most motherboards as you increase the FSB, the RAM speed will increase just like the CPU since they are both on multipliers.

So usually you are overclocking your ram (i.e. 333mhz--->350mhz means you would have overclocked your ram to 560mhz[350*1.6], or 1120mhz) But since you have your ram set to "unlinked"..it doesn't scale with the FSB.

For motherboards that don't have the unlinked option you can knock down the RAM multiplier if the PC becomes unstable in order to eliminate the RAM overclock (i.e. reduce multi to 1.25x so it runs at 438mhz or 875 effective)
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FSB speeds robina_80 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-01-2007 08:28 AM
Ultra Noob question DarkMortar Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 10-06-2007 08:54 PM
probably a noob question Tadow Linux and Open Source 8 08-10-2007 06:32 PM
Question about FSB speeds. Saint71 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 07-15-2007 03:42 PM
Noob Question waytoosmall Computer Audio and Multimedia 7 04-23-2007 07:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.