Noob needs a bit of help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2010, 02:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Default Noob needs a bit of help

So I just built a new computer a few days ago.
Asus M3A78-EM Mobo
Viotek Pro Power supply
I am currently just using the integrated video card, until I find one that is recommended for me/this system. I have the same intergrated HD 3200 in my laptop and I get 25-35 FPS in WoW, and on the new system I am only getting 22 max. I know there has to be something wrong but I really don't know what settings to change. Someone said I would need a benchmark, I did download sisoftware sandra but I am unsure how to post a benchmark, if someone would just give me a quick run down of how I would if it is needed. I am looking for any help to somehow get this system running better. I am pretty computer literate, but after looking through overclocking, benchmarks, and all this other stuff, I am pretty confused. Thanks for any help you can give me!
__________________

wowgirl38 is offline  
Old 06-18-2010, 02:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 34
Default Re: Noob needs a bit of help

get the new gfx card, i cant run a single game on my pc that has integrated gfx
__________________

ReU_VOoDOo is offline  
Old 06-18-2010, 02:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: Noob needs a bit of help

Well I know it should get better than this without buying a new card, I plan on buying one, but it has hybrid crossfire and I have no idea what to get in my price range. I was told I have to get a crossfire enabled card, and I really have no clue.
wowgirl38 is offline  
Old 06-18-2010, 12:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Noob needs a bit of help

You have the upto date drivers?

What are the system temps? Use hwmonitor to check... CPUID - System & hardware benchmark, monitoring, reporting

Don't get a card with intent to xfire. Just get the best single cad you can. It'll be a 5 series card. But you shouldn't need it for WoW.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-19-2010, 10:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Noob needs a bit of help

The onboard 3200 can be overclocked as vernong1992 did it, but I don't remember how offhand.

Try updating your graphics drivers. Go here and click on Motherboard/Integrated Video Drivers, then choose your operating system. I would go with the Full Catalyst Software Suite.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
32 bit OS RAM limitation. Jayce Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 49 11-11-2013 11:14 AM
Vista 64 bit Vs 32 bit LFCJohnSmith Microsoft Windows and Software 9 06-26-2009 02:42 PM
32-bit or 64-bit vista? GuitarFreak1857 Microsoft Windows and Software 28 02-17-2008 10:41 PM
32 bit Color Quality Error jimmysohi Microsoft Windows and Software 7 01-27-2008 03:16 AM
Vista already being replaced? plumber4578 Microsoft Windows and Software 52 01-23-2008 01:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.