Noob here who needs guidance

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jeffrock

In Runtime
Hey everyone. I just joined up and was hoping to get a push in the right direction.
I have decided to build a computer for the first time. I will have the help of a couple friends who are pretty knowledgeable and have built numerous computers.
I am not a true gamer, but I would like my computer to be up to the challenge. LOL, my current Gateway P3 has the sorriest excuse for a video card ever. I would be using the computer for running numerous apps like photoshop, video-editing software, and the occasional gaming.
I figure if I get a barebones kit (Including processor, motherboard, ram, etc.) I can just use my operating system (Windows XP Pro), my cd-rw my 80 gb Western Dig hard drive, and my cd-rom drive.
I have found a kit from tigerdirect that I am interested in:
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicat...ails.asp?EdpNo=775449&Sku=C122-2558&CatId=333

Any opinions on it? Price too high? Too much computer for my needs? Go with AMD instead and save some $$$?
Links to any reputable places to buy bare-bones kits? Thanks in advance for any replies.
-Jeff
Here is the cheesy description:
In one dynamite package you get the incredible Intel Pentium 4 2.8GHz processor with its revolutionary Hyper-Threading Technology for rapid execution of applications, the mighty Asus P4S800 motherboard with a slew of incredible features, and one of the coolest computer cases youÂ’ve ever seen.