Noob here - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2004, 10:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Jae
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 245
Default Noob here

Im new here and had a couple questions. I have a budget of $500 for a new gaming pc, i know its not much but thats all i have right now. The computer will be used for gaming and internet. Can anyone make a list of parts that will fit into my price range? This question has probably been asked many times before so sorry for the inconvenience
__________________

Jae is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 10:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 30
Default

I'd get a cheap Athlon with a 9600 graphics card and 512MB.

It's gonna take some effort to get a good system for $500... I hope you don't need a monitor too.
__________________

jim_77 is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 11:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

yeah, you can prolly swing a Athlon XP 2400 or better and a midrange video card, like a FX5700 or a Ati9600, maybe a very cheap motherboard and case with a 350w PSU. OEM XP home should be the OS, unless you already have one. a 80 gig harddrive, preferably western digital. a 512 stick of ram at least. well hey, look at the "backup comp" in the right hand side of my signature, that cost 700 bucks with monitor a year ago, you could prolly swing that with 500 now. just make sure the video card is better that mine.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 11:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 30
Default

Rosewill Black ATX Mid Tower Case, Model "R214P" $29.50

Lite-On Black 52X32X52X16 Combo Drive, Model SOHC-5232K, OEM Bulk Pack $36.99

SAMSUNG 80GB 7200RPM IDE Hard Drive, Model SP0802N, OEM Drive only $56.50

ASUS "A7N8X" nForce2 Ultra 400 Chipset Motherboard for AMD Socket A CPU -RETAIL(New Version, now support AMD Barton 400MHz) $72.00

SAPPHIRE ATI RADEON 9600SE Video Card, 128MB DDR, 64-bit, DVI/TV-Out, 8X AGP, Model "ATLANTIS RADEON 9600SE" -RETAIL $71.70

PDP SYSTEMS Memory Dual Channel Kit 184-Pin 512MB (256MBx2) DDR PC-2700, Model PDC5122700LLK - Retail $83.00

AMD Athlon XP 2700+, 333MHz FSB, 256K Cache Processor - Retail $103.00

Total (without shipping and tax) $415.50 from Newegg.com


Your spare $84.50 could upgrade you to a 200GB drive and get you a DVD burner. But I thought I'd leave it cheap just to prove you can play HL2 for this price.
jim_77 is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 11:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 30
Default

The memory's not brilliant either... but it will work fine.
jim_77 is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 12:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

$83 for PC-2700 is way too much.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...141-161&depa=1
For $1 more you will get a buttload more performance

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...220-002&depa=1
$7 more and you will have even better RAM with tighter timings. I'd shoot for these.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 04:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

id drop the CPU down to the 2500+, its still a Barton core with 333mhz fsb and 512kb cache, and in games the performance decrease is negotiable. With the extra money, get a 9600xt, its defenantly worth it.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 07:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

yeah, because the 9600SE is really lacking in performance, and is out-performed by the FX5200 in most cases - which is saying something, because the 5200 is a very cheap card.
__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 08:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 251
Default

I dont know much about ram but would this be better than the ones that 4W4K3 suggested?

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...144-305&depa=1
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
Forchunet is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 11:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Forchunet
I dont know much about ram but would this be better than the ones that 4W4K3 suggested?

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...144-305&depa=1
Timings are worse
No Dual Channel capability with a single stick

I would say they are worse.
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.