No POST is driving me crazeee! Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

jupiter1

Solid State Member
Hi, forum - Newbie here!

I wonder whether there's anyone out here in Internetland who can help me with this problem which is quite simply driving me crazy:

Up until a couple of months ago I was perfectly happily using this combo for running music apps in my studio under WinXP Professional:

Asus NF7-S Motherboard (not overclocked)
AMD Athlon XP2800 333hz fsb CPU
2 x 512mb PC3200 DDR SDRAM
GeForce MX440 64mb AGP 8X Video Card
2 x 200Gb SATR Seagate Hard discs
1 x CD-Writer
1 x DVD-writer
Emu 1820 digital audio system
300w power supply

One day I was working on e-mails on the Admin PC in the studio (they're not networked, and the Music PC is completely isolated from the Internet), and turned round about an hour later to see the monitor had gone black on the Music PC.

I'd been working on the Music PC earlier, and had just left it idling on the desktop, with no apps open. XP is stripped down to the max on this PC to maximise resources for the Music apps, and has worked very, very well for ages.

I re-booted the PC, thinking it had just crashed, and was immediately concerned that suddenly there was no POST check.

A dozen off-ons later I realised something was up, so I disconnected all the hard-drives, the CD & DVD drives and the Emu Audio System, and still nothing. The power LED's on the NF7-S mobo still came on, and the CPU fan still worked, but there were no helpful beeps...

So... I reset the BIOS. Still nothing. I swapped over the monitor and
graphics card from the Admin PC. Nothing. I took out the RAM and
re-seated the two modules singly, swapped them over then put them both back in. Still no POST check.