No Moniter Response, Help!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2005, 08:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
Unhappy No Moniter Response, Help!!

I recently got an athlon xp 2600 chip and applied it to a Gigabyte2004RZ motherboard (athlon xp motherboard). I put it all together and monitor will not turn on. I tried 2 different monitors with 2 different reliable video cards. Nada!! Is there a common installation problem that keeps the monitor off, like memory, power supply, or message LED/power/sleep LED. I don't get audio error beeps either????!!!!! Please, someone, anyone help!
__________________

fluidj is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 08:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

usually this happens if some hardware is not pushed in right, commonly the RAM
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 04:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
Default

O.K. anymore suggetions???? What about processor chips??? Could it be a number of variables causing no monitor response??
fluidj is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 06:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it can be a lot of things
it could be the CMOS battery is flat
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 06:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

What about the studs on the mobo tray? could be shorting you out, happened to me. I miss placed one and my pc sometimes wouldn't come on at all, sometimes it would boot, but no video, etc. Also had the same problem in improperly seated ram, and fried mobo.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 08:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 153
Send a message via AIM to OCC Fan
Default

make sure the jumper on your HDD is in the correct place. refer to your hard drive manual for specific details. make sure that ur mobo isn't being grounded (make sure your mobo isn't touching the case). Clear CMOS.
__________________

OCC Fan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.