No hard drive detected (SATA) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2005, 04:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 435
Default

Asus A8V Delux. It says there is no bios installed for the Promise thing.
__________________

chrisgill369 is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 05:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

oh ok you will need to do the f6 thing twice then. Get the promise drivers, install the controller, then install the sata drivers and be happy.
__________________

__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 05:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 435
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by daappleby
oh ok you will need to do the f6 thing twice then. Get the promise drivers, install the controller, then install the sata drivers and be happy.
ok i will try that tommorow and will let you know how i get on. Thanks
chrisgill369 is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 04:22 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 435
Default

Im not really ahving much luck. Ive tried using F6 twice and installing the drivers but i get the same thing. Ive changed the hard drive connection from the SATA to the SATA_RAID and no when i boot it says no array defined so i press ctrl+f and now i have these options

1. Auto Setup
2. View Drive Assigments
3. Define Array
4. Delete Array
5. Rebuild Array

Which do i choose? Ive only got on HDD so i didnt think i would need an array :/
chrisgill369 is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 04:36 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Just to let you know I've bought the same hard drive, and Seagate say their drives don't need drivers. You only need the SATA controller drivers for your motherboard.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 05:24 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 435
Default

Its ok i think ive got over the problem now. I choose Auto Setup and now im formatting the drive so i think eveything is ok.
__________________

chrisgill369 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.