Newbie Overclocking Question =) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2004, 12:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 56
Send a message via AIM to xraider5
Default Newbie Overclocking Question =)

i have a pentium4 2.4C and im trying to overclock it. i also have a gigabyte motherboard. So I guess I'm supposed to slowly crank up the FSB and then test it with a consuming application.


well, i accessed the bios. it says:

Linear Frequency Control:
- CPU Clock (MHz): 100
- DRAM Clock(MHz): 200

im guessing im changing the DRAM? Because i have a 2.4 which means its 200 x 12, right? Is that how I can mod FSB? Cuz I can't find any other options...


Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Current Specs:

Aspire X-Dreamer Case
Pentium 4 2.4C (considering overclocking)
Gigabyte GA-8S648FX-L Titan
Geforce4 MX440 128MB
1 512 PC2700 (1 Channel)
Pioneer PVR-108 16X DVD Burner (4x Dual Layer)
16X DVD Drive
160GB Maxtor ATA133 7200rpm
Windows XP Pro
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
Creative Inspire T2900 + Cambridge SW320 = 4.2 Speakers
Samsung 710N LCD Monitor

<b>Woohoo for Quietness!</b>
Seasonic Precise 340W (Ultra Quiet)
Zalman CNPS7000A-AlCu CPU Cooler
Aerocool Chameleon (20.3 dB)
Panasonic Panaflo (21 dB)
3.5 Nexus Fan Controller
xraider5 is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 06:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 256
Default

no u change the cpu clock
__________________

__________________
<font size=1 color=red>
<b>Main System</b>
-Mach Speed X-Caliber PT800DBP Mobo (POS!!)
-Pentium 4 3.0C at stock w/ SP-94 & YS Tech Fan
-Thermaltake 420 Watt Power Supply
-Kingston 512 MB Dual Channel PC3200
-512 MB Kingmax Hardcore PC4000
-GeForceFX 5200 128MB AGP Card | Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
-WD Caviar SE 160GB HD 7200 RPM/8 MB/ATA-100
-Nec DVD Burner, 32x16x40 CD-RW, 8x4x12x DVD±RW</font>
<font size=1 color=black>
<b>Dell XPS T700r</b>
-PIII 700Mhz | 20GB Maxtor | 384 MB SDRAM | NEC DVD-ROM | 32MB NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model64
</font>
knuckle50 is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 01:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

i think you should change both and overclock the memory and the cpu
__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 06:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 256
Default

you are correct andrew, but with my bios the dram speed changes with the cpu clock
__________________
<font size=1 color=red>
<b>Main System</b>
-Mach Speed X-Caliber PT800DBP Mobo (POS!!)
-Pentium 4 3.0C at stock w/ SP-94 & YS Tech Fan
-Thermaltake 420 Watt Power Supply
-Kingston 512 MB Dual Channel PC3200
-512 MB Kingmax Hardcore PC4000
-GeForceFX 5200 128MB AGP Card | Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
-WD Caviar SE 160GB HD 7200 RPM/8 MB/ATA-100
-Nec DVD Burner, 32x16x40 CD-RW, 8x4x12x DVD±RW</font>
<font size=1 color=black>
<b>Dell XPS T700r</b>
-PIII 700Mhz | 20GB Maxtor | 384 MB SDRAM | NEC DVD-ROM | 32MB NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model64
</font>
knuckle50 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.