newbie OC - e6400 w/ Asus AI Tuning - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2007, 07:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 182
Default newbie OC - e6400 w/ Asus AI Tuning

I've been happy w/ my e6400 rig for 3 months or so now, but have that "driving a ferrari at 45 mph" feeling. Granted it's not the best c2d out there, but I know I can get more out of it. Here's my situation...

I have a Asus P5B-E with the AI Tuning feature. Since I know very little about OC'ing, I really don't want to mess around too much with voltages, ram frequencies, etc. I know those are the essentials of OC, but what I'm hoping for is just a little boost from the AI Tuning and call it a day sinc Asus is trying to make it easy on me. From what I understand, I can modify the CPU Frequency in the "manual" mode and if everything else is left to auto they will self adjust accordingly? I bumped my CPU Freq from stock 266 to 275 and my speed went to about 2.22 from 2.3 using cpu-z to measure. Blazing, I know.

How high should I realistically push the CPU Freq in the manual tuning mode, w/o touching anything else? Moderate load at that slight overclcok I was at 45c, which is fine since I'm not planning on having this chip more than 2 years or so. Is it a case of just keep bumping up by 5 units until it gets unstable? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Maye I'm leaving out a 2nd easy bios tweak that would help out - you tell me.

Thanks in advance

Richard
__________________

regeisle is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 09:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

You nailed it! Up it by 5 at a time until you're happy or it becomes unstable. When it becomes unstable, you have to make it stable again.

A few reasons it can become unstable are voltages, the memory is running too fast, or heat.

I'm not sure what speed your RAM runs at, but if it's a slower DDR2 model then you will have problems with that before anything else. What you'll have to do is just underclock the memory to the next slowest speed.

You should be able to hit around 3.0GHz+ easily.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 09:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 182
Default

That's great news, thanks CrazeD. Memory (will update my sig) is DDR800 (Corsair XMS2). Just a general question, and I guess this only applies to my asus mobo. With it so easy through AI Tuning, why would anyone get into the slew of other settings? Is that just for extreme OC'ing, or is it a safer, more stable approach?
regeisle is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 10:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Doing it manually is more stable and more customizable. Plus you get the feeling of accomplishment.

In all honesty though, over clocking manually is just as easy - you just have to get the hang of it.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.