Newbie modder - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2003, 05:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 17
Default Newbie modder

I am relatively new to system mods but would like to speed up the operation of my system and would like some advice on how to go about it.

SYSTEM Athlon 2000+ processor K7T Turbo2
MSI mobo MS-6330V5
512 Mb PC133 ram
GeForce4 MX 420 graphics

I am not a gamester but use Photoshop and Internet. Would I need a mobo upgrade to run faster RAM as I don't think overclocking is the answer?
__________________

shaggydali1965 is offline  
Old 07-02-2003, 02:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

if you don't like overclocking your system...i'd say change your ram. read your mobo manual or go to the manufacturer's site to see if your mobo supports higher ram frequencies.
__________________

devlish96 is offline  
Old 07-03-2003, 08:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 17
Default

I don't really know much about frequencies but I think mine is 266mhz ... do you mean that I can raise it with the bus speed and multiplier ( wouldn't that be clocking ! ), changing the RAM for a faster type using my existing MOBO or buying a newer better MOBO that supports DDR Ram? Apologies if I sound like a retard, I'm just interested that's all
shaggydali1965 is offline  
Old 07-04-2003, 02:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

your system is already fast for its purpose,...since you said that youre not a really a gamer,...so i would suggest that you get/buy new ram. you indicated that you have a 512mb pc133...i'd suggest you get a ddr pc 266 or a 333 or a 400,..if your mobo supports those rams. you already have good graphics card ,...what you need is higher ram to allow faster loading times
devlish96 is offline  
Old 07-04-2003, 08:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 17
Default

If I do decide to buy a new mobo, which would you suggest. There seems to be so many. I would want a noticable improvement for my money. ( mobo, ram and cpu )
shaggydali1965 is offline  
Old 07-04-2003, 12:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

that depends,..how much is your budget?..
devlish96 is offline  
Old 07-05-2003, 03:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Asus / Soyo / Abit

are all relativly good mobos and a good place to start looking for what you need.
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 07-08-2003, 09:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 17
Default

budget not too much a problem but would like to see real results for my money
shaggydali1965 is offline  
Old 07-08-2003, 01:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

then get asus, abit, and soyo ..as GUY suggested....gigabyte is also good.....

after deciding which one you want,...then you can now go and scout for RAM and CPU that would compliment you mobo's performance and specs....this has always been the most effective way to build/assemble/upgarde a pc...always start with the mobo.
__________________

devlish96 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.