newbie making a new comp plz help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2005, 05:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 21
Default newbie making a new comp plz help

Sry I decided to not build the sff pc becuz it was not that upgradeable so....
Does this PC look good? will it run all the games comming out 4 a long time? Someone from another forum recommended that I get hi performance ram cuz its good with the processor. Also, I'm looking into overclocking, will this setup do well with that?

Case
COOLER MASTER Centurion 530
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16811119081

MoBo
Chaintech NF4 Ultra
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16813152049

Video Card
BFG Tech 7800 GTX
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16814143036

PSU
ASPIRE ATX-AS520W BLACK ATX 520W Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16817148008

CPU
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Processor
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16819103537

Memory
OCZ Gold Edition 1GB (2x512MB)
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16820227211


HD
?????????


DVD/CDRW
NEC Beige IDE DVD Burner Model
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16827152039

Sound Card
CREATIVE Sound Blaster Audigy2
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16829102162

I need a good hard drive other than a Raptor (TOO EXPENSIVE)
plz help

Any input/suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated

Thanks in Advance

EDIT:changed MoBo to DFI-7/21
EDIT:CHANGED ALMOST EVERYTHING got alot cheaper added better graphics card-7/22
__________________

Wuuzy is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 05:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

You don't need that much RAM. Stick with the 2x 512mb sticks.

The 6800 GT is the BEST bang-for-buck card out there. It will last you a good long while. I haven't found anything that it can't play on full blast settings.
__________________

__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 10:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default

not sure i agree with just sticking with 1gb ram. I had one 1gb ram and upgraded to 2gb not long ago, major improvement in performance and phase load time for me, especially in games like doom3 and halflife 2, completely ironed out stutters.

About your PSU, it may look flash, but be sure of the quality, ive not heard to much about aspire, and the cost is a little suspect.

Can i suggest Twinmos ram as a apposed to mushkin, much less expensive and performance is just as good, if not better for overclocking.

You would also be better to go for a samsung dvd writer over the NEC. Around the same price also.
espeed is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 10:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

step down the ram and the video card 1 gb ram 6800gt and then up ur proessor a bit 3200 or even 3400
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 10:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Thumbs up

I strongly suggest you dont step down the RAM, just go for a more afordable type eg. Twinmos
espeed is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 11:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by espeed
not sure i agree with just sticking with 1gb ram. I had one 1gb ram and upgraded to 2gb not long ago, major improvement in performance and phase load time for me, especially in games like doom3 and halflife 2, completely ironed out stutters.
Simply put, no. In fact, that doesn't make any sense. All more RAM will do for you is allow you to run more apps simultaneously.

Upgrading to 2GB won't help load times, performance, or stutters. Unless you were running 4 copies of Doom 3 at the same time, the difference between 1GB & 2GB is miniscule if not non-existant.

Visual performance improvements and quicker loading with 2GB over 1GB is complete BS. Please get your facts straight.

Quote:
Originally posted by espeed
You would also be better to go for a samsung dvd writer over the NEC. Around the same price also.
NEC makes one of the best DVD burners out there if not THE best. Ask anyone.
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 11:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

hes overclocking and when u overclock u dont want ur silly ram holding u back 1 gb mushkin will be fine
and look into a new fan and heatsink a nie zelman will do if ur gonna overclock the zalman on the front page of neweggs cooling devices the 47$ dollar one is nice and i think the nicest
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 11:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Calzinger
Simply put, no. In fact, that doesn't make any sense. All more RAM will do for you is allow you to run more apps simultaneously.

Upgrading to 2GB won't help load times, performance, or stutters. Unless you were running 4 copies of Doom 3 at the same time, the difference between 1GB & 2GB is miniscule if not non-existant.

Visual performance improvements and quicker loading with 2GB over 1GB is complete BS. Please get your facts straight.


NEC makes one of the best DVD burners out there if not THE best. Ask anyone.
I wouldnt say this if it werent true, i noticed the difference first hand, have you? Good example was phase load time in half life 2, cut down alot, and also stuttering in doom 3 expansion which was at times very noticable on 1 gig but completely ironed out on 2 gig. I know what i see and my facts are right.

i never said anythign about visual improvement, that is absurd. Perhaps you should read my post more thoroughly.
espeed is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 11:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by espeed
I wouldnt say this if it werent true, i noticed the difference first hand, have you? Good example was phase load time in half life 2, cut down alot, and also stuttering in doom 3 expansion which was at times very noticable on 1 gig but completely ironed out on 2 gig. I know what i see and my facts are right.

i never said anythign about visual improvement, that is absurd.
By visual improvement, I meant framerate and smoothness, which is equally absurd.

Ask anyone. Better yet, look up what RAM actually is. How could Doom 3 possibly run faster with 2GB over 1GB when it doesn't even use 512 megs? The same goes for HL2.

The only time you will notice a difference is when you run every benchmarking program in existance, 3D Studio Max 7 while rendering a 1000000000 poly object, and 8 copies of Doom 3 at the same time.

And I hope you do realize that he can always add a gig later on. He can buy a gig now. If he feels like he needs an additional gig, he can always pick one up.

The reasoning behind your theory of "2gb runs smoother" is still non-existant.
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 11:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Calzinger
By visual improvement, I meant framerate and smoothness, which is equally absurd.

Ask anyone. Better yet, look up what RAM actually is. How could Doom 3 possibly run faster with 2GB over 1GB when it doesn't even use 512 megs? The same goes for HL2.

The only time you will notice a difference is when you run every benchmarking program in existance, 3D Studio Max 7 while rendering a 1000000000 poly object, and 8 copies of Doom 3 at the same time.

And I hope you do realize that he can always add a gig later on. He can buy a gig now. If he feels like he needs an additional gig, he can always pick one up.

The reasoning behind your theory of "2gb runs smoother" is still non-existant.
I guess it depends on what your definition is of "smoother", im saying that noticeable stuttering which was a major complaint with the doom3 expansion were totally neutralised with the extra gig. To me that is a performance improvement.
__________________

espeed is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.