newb looking for advice - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2005, 04:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 122
Default newb looking for advice

Hi, I want to upgrade my ram from 512mb (256x2) pc 3200 to 1 gig (512x2) pc 3200,, and I'm not sure which ram to buy, my price range is about $100-$150, if you could tell me which would be the best to buy for my price range.
__________________

Foyman is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 05:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Kingston ValueRAM 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Dual Channel Kit System Memory - Retail

Get some nice cheap stuff that has a lifetime warrenty.

It doesnt really sound like you are going to overclocking.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 05:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
dk
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 62
Default

Corsair ValueRAM is also very good.
dk is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 05:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 122
Default

Thanks for the info, my friend who put together my comp suggested these, most notably the first one (TwinMOS) because it has a "Winbond UTT chip" and he says it's good for the money

TwinMOS 512MB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) System Memory

and

OCZ Gold Series 512MB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) System Memory

Sound Good?
Foyman is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 06:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

If you are going to overclock then that would be good RAM for you.

If not, then dont spend extra money on RAM that you arent going to fully utilise.

The expensive RAM wont perform any better unless it is used for overclocking. Its actually quite useless to waste money on OCing RAM that isnt going to be OCd.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 06:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 122
Default

Well he said the TwinMOS will overclock nicely, I just don't know how to OC yet but will probably find out soon and do so. But in your opinion Elbatrop1 do you think the TwinMOS would be pretty good w/o being oc'd for the meantime?
__________________
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
Athlon 64 3200+ Venice
EVGA 6800 GT
1 GIG OCZ EL PC 3200
OCZ Modstream 450W
WD 10k Raptor
XP Pro
Foyman is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 06:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Well, in another thread, Nubius recommended that TwinMOS for cheap OCing.

If your motherboard supports dual channeled RAM, then make sure to get 2 sticks.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 06:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 122
Default

Sounds good, Thanks for the advice
__________________
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
Athlon 64 3200+ Venice
EVGA 6800 GT
1 GIG OCZ EL PC 3200
OCZ Modstream 450W
WD 10k Raptor
XP Pro
Foyman is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 08:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Also, if your computer was built by oem, then you can't overclock cause they usually lock it.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 12:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hacp
Also, if your computer was built by oem, then you can't overclock cause they usually lock it.
He said his friend built it for him, so it's not OEM. And they dont always lock it so you cant, just more often than not they do. They also load it with crap parts that are not good for overclocking and it is very advisable to not OC those parts.

Like Elba said, if you are not going to OC, than some good ValueRAM will be quite sufficient for you. Overclockign is not the easiest thing to do, i suspect that if you dive into it you will burn something out. You should do alot of research on the subject. My friends brother told me he was going to get a certain moetherboard because his freidn said it was good for overclocking. It wasnt, it was a crappy $50 mobo. My friends brother also didnt know what a processor was, so he certainly wasnt ready for overlclocking. You have to have adequate cooling, among several other things. Dont look at overclocking right now, look at what would suit you the best, and I believe that right now the best would be some good ValueRAM. Go with Elba's first suggestion, the Kingston. For stock sticks running stock speeds, they work great.
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.