newb build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2004, 02:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13
Default newb build

Hey everyone,

I've just started to create a new comp. Have no experience but looking to change that.

here's the hardware i was looking at so far. lemme know what you guys think.

Video Card

cpu

mobo

case

HD

memory

OS

cdrw

I will most likely get a better cdrw drive later but i just wanted something that i could use at the moment. Well there's my build. lemme know where to improve. I want to stick around the $1000 range if possible.

Thanks
__________________

esteban1125 is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 02:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

Your Graphics card wont work with you motherboard because your motherboard doesn’t have a PCI-Express slot only a AGP slot. Also rather get a 3000+ or 3200+ and then get better memory.

Neosteve
__________________

__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 02:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13
Default changes

Alright, well i made some changes. Didnt realize the PCI.

For Video Card,

Video Card

Memory

What would you recommend?

Thanks
esteban1125 is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 02:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

To me the best memory out there will be this.
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...146-890&depa=1
These memory modules are based on samsungs tccd chips and OC dam well.

Neosteve
__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 06:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

I would get a better case, and why woud you want to get a 3000 or a 3200..? The 3500 is socket 939 and alot better.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 06:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

Codeine the 3500+ is really the same thing as the 3000+ or the 3200+ but just higher clocked. The 3500+ has the exact same chip as other and wont make such a big overlcoking difference at all so it would make better sense just to buy a 3000+ or 3200+ and get better memory or something else.

Neosteve
__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 12-28-2004, 07:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 92
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Codeine
I would get a better case, and why woud you want to get a 3000 or a 3200..? The 3500 is socket 939 and alot better.
both 3000+, and 3200+ have 939 sockets also available if your on the budget your on. I would recomend get the 3000+, or the 3200+ and get better memory, or graphics card
OCgod* is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 05:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13
Default add on

I was taking a look on newegg and it seems there isnt too much of a difference between the prices of 3200+ and 3500+. i believe $40. So i was thinking of keeping that. I will upgrade the memory to the one recommended.

However, what type of case would be good to use? Also should i get a power supply also?

Thanks
esteban1125 is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 05:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 435
Default

you case comes with a 500w PSU (power supply unit)
chrisgill369 is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 06:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

You are going to have some killer ram there.

As for what type of case i say any kind is ok as long as it has a few fans with it to cool your system down. I would recommend the Thermaltake Tsunami Dream case just because i got one and it does very well to keep my system cool.

What power supply do you already have?

If you don’t have a power supply already I would recommend the OCZ Power Stream Series also make sure you get over 300W to meet your system requirement safely.

Steve

Edit: I never saw the case you choose before. The one you choose should work perfectly.
__________________

__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.