New system, can't decide on a processor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2004, 09:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 82
Default New system, can't decide on a processor

Hello everyone!
I'm currently planning to build a new PC with my limited budget. I can't seem to decide on a processor I should pick. Not really what brand but because of what other components I will be able to pick up later. I really want to go with AMD Athlon 64, because then I can use the nForce SLI board, which is really nice for future upgradeability (because of the two cards). But then again Intel has some very nice processors too. I can't seem to decide what to buy. Should I go with AMD and SLI, or go with P4 3.4E GHz.
Two products im considering:
p4 3.40E GHz
Atholn 64 3500+
Choosing the processor will greatly affect the other components I get so I would appreciate any help :beard:.
Thanks! :beard:
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\" color=\"red\"><strong>My specs:</strong>
AMD Athlon 64 3500 Winchester
MSI Neo2 Platinum NForce3 Ultra
2GB Corsair XMS Ram
520W Aspire Triple Fan PSU
GeForce 6800 Ultra
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
10,000 RPM 74GB Raptor
120GB Maxtor
Princeton 17\' DVI Monitor
Logitech Cordless Duo MX
Creative P7800 7.1 Speakers
AOpen DVD Dual Layer recorder
</font>
Person is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 09:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 435
Default

well if you want the computer for gaming gor fo an AMD64 if not get a P4
__________________

chrisgill369 is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 09:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I would go for the AMD, even if its not for gaming, because its 64bit
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 09:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 82
Default

What about the cache of both those (p4 having twice as much L2)? Will that make a big difference for gaming and and some very processor intensive tasks?
Also, which core should I look for if going AMD?
__________________
<font size=\"1\" color=\"red\"><strong>My specs:</strong>
AMD Athlon 64 3500 Winchester
MSI Neo2 Platinum NForce3 Ultra
2GB Corsair XMS Ram
520W Aspire Triple Fan PSU
GeForce 6800 Ultra
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
10,000 RPM 74GB Raptor
120GB Maxtor
Princeton 17\' DVI Monitor
Logitech Cordless Duo MX
Creative P7800 7.1 Speakers
AOpen DVD Dual Layer recorder
</font>
Person is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 09:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Clawhammer 90nm, and get a mobo that supports the 90nm version, or just get the 130nm version.

The cache will make some difference, but I would get the AMD, cause it will run 64bit apps/OS in the future.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 09:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 82
Default

All I can see from ClawHammers that is cheaper than $680 () are socket 754 CPUs. Won't support SLI motherboards as far as I can see . What about the Newcastle core? Or Winchester?
__________________
<font size=\"1\" color=\"red\"><strong>My specs:</strong>
AMD Athlon 64 3500 Winchester
MSI Neo2 Platinum NForce3 Ultra
2GB Corsair XMS Ram
520W Aspire Triple Fan PSU
GeForce 6800 Ultra
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
10,000 RPM 74GB Raptor
120GB Maxtor
Princeton 17\' DVI Monitor
Logitech Cordless Duo MX
Creative P7800 7.1 Speakers
AOpen DVD Dual Layer recorder
</font>
Person is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 09:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Ooops..... the 90nm is Winchester

I would get the Winchester 90nm or Newcastle 130nm.
The Winchester has problems on some mobo's requiring a BIOS flash. Make sure the board supports it. Post on TF to ask. The Winchester runs cooler thean the Newastle.

The Clawhammers are only 754 or FX cpu's.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 09:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 82
Default

Ok, .
How about this little combo?
CPU and mobo
Its a 3500+ Newcastle and ASUS SLI mobo.
__________________
<font size=\"1\" color=\"red\"><strong>My specs:</strong>
AMD Athlon 64 3500 Winchester
MSI Neo2 Platinum NForce3 Ultra
2GB Corsair XMS Ram
520W Aspire Triple Fan PSU
GeForce 6800 Ultra
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
10,000 RPM 74GB Raptor
120GB Maxtor
Princeton 17\' DVI Monitor
Logitech Cordless Duo MX
Creative P7800 7.1 Speakers
AOpen DVD Dual Layer recorder
</font>
Person is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 09:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 435
Default

will a winchester core work on a ASUS A8V ... http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=72725

its a socket 939 mobo so i would have thought so but just checking.
chrisgill369 is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 09:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Person
Ok, .
How about this little combo?
CPU and mobo
Its a 3500+ Newcastle and ASUS SLI mobo.
looks nice

chrisgill369, I don't know.. I would post a new thread
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.