New Sound Card - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2005, 10:26 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Don't overclock for the sake of overclocking. Try to figure out "what" you want exactly.. Why overclock a sound card in the first place?

Get better "throughput"?.. Why bother.. How much "sound" is there to process exactly. For you it's just real-time processing.

Sampling frequency?.. Guess you could.. But, the default sampling frequency is well above the required rates anyways (Nyquist rate and taking filter deficiencies into account).
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 11:19 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default

If you want loud, you don't need a louder soundcard. You need speakers with a better amp. Sounds to me like your speakers now are passive, so they get all their current from the soundcard. I'd say stick with your current soundcard, or get this card. It's cheap, and it's supposed to have beautiful optical- and analog-outs. Anyway, use your current card or the Chaintech and go to your local store (Best Buy, Fry's) and pick out some speakers that sound best to you.
__________________

__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 03:52 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Chankama
Don't overclock for the sake of overclocking. Try to figure out "what" you want exactly.. Why overclock a sound card in the first place?

Get better "throughput"?.. Why bother.. How much "sound" is there to process exactly. For you it's just real-time processing.

Sampling frequency?.. Guess you could.. But, the default sampling frequency is well above the required rates anyways (Nyquist rate and taking filter deficiencies into account).
Changing the frequency clockgen (for 44100) and crap would make the sounds go all super fast and high pitched.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 03:58 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

hmm, never heard the idea of OCing a sound card before....
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 07:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

Yeah I had a pair of car speakers hooked up through my dell speakers
but theres not enough watts to even make them sound good.
__________________

__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.