New Sound Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2005, 10:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Cool New Sound Card

I have about 1500 songs on my computer and love listening to music while I play games, but my speakers are weak dell speakers.My sound card couldnt support any other speakers. So I wanted a awesome LOUD sound card that I could hook up to my speakers inside and outside of my house and man what a diff ill be getting a 10'' sub and a set some balance speakers.Just got to get the money kinda broke at the moment.




http://www.newegg.com/Product/ShowIm...d%20-%20Retail
__________________

__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 11:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

wondering if there is any program that checks you soundcard performance.Becuase maybe I could be overclocking it, if is even possible.
__________________

__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 11:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

that is an excellent choice for a sound card...soundblaster makes very solid products
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 08:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fr34ky
wondering if there is any program that checks you soundcard performance.Becuase maybe I could be overclocking it, if is even possible.
I dont think its possible to overclock a sound card.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 10:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

/didnt think so either but I was just wondering.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 11:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

Quote:
wondering if there is any program that checks you soundcard performance.Becuase maybe I could be overclocking it, if is even possible.
If there was a way to OC a sound card i would have already and if that was true it would give me an excuse to put a heatsik on it. Soooo, yea you cant.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 01:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

well you can raise the pci bus, makes the sound go faster

but what model actually is your sound card and what sort of connections it has? why can't you connect it to your stereo system?
LoTeX is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 12:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

I can hook it up to my sterio. I was probaly talking about my old card.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 06:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

i meant your old card. you said: "My sound card couldnt support any other speakers."... i don't think there's a sound card made especially just to one sort of speakers. I mean if you can stick it some dell speakers, you can somehow hook it up to your stereo as well?

at the moment, here at work, i got this integrated sound, and i put it to the "phono line in", as the crappy stereo system here doesn't have a aux connection. but it works alrighty.
LoTeX is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 07:54 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
If there was a way to OC a sound card i would have already and if that was true it would give me an excuse to put a heatsik on it. Soooo, yea you cant.
Yes you can, their's lots of clock frequency's to change.

Change out the clockgen's and you can change the frequency.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.