New Set of RAM and 750i BIOS Settings - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2008, 01:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 68
Default New Set of RAM and 750i BIOS Settings

Well i just got a new kit of RAM Newegg.com - G.SKILL PI Black 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
and I want you guys to help me set up my BIOS Settings for some that I do not know what to set it to.

I have a EVGA 750i FTW, Q6600, 9800 GX2, 700W PSU. I am running this RAM at 5-5-5-15 @ 1000MHz. Take a look at my BIOS

What should CPU FSB voltage be set too? Also I have another 4gb kit Newegg.com - OCZ SLI-Ready Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory can I run both of these for 8GB without any problems? Thanks in advance.
__________________

Viscin is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 01:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: New Set of RAM and 750i BIOS Settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viscin View Post
Well i just got a new kit of RAM Newegg.com - G.SKILL PI Black 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
and I want you guys to help me set up my BIOS Settings for some that I do not know what to set it to.

I have a EVGA 750i FTW, Q6600, 9800 GX2, 700W PSU. I am running this RAM at 5-5-5-15 @ 1000MHz. Take a look at my BIOS

What should CPU FSB voltage be set too? Also I have another 4gb kit Newegg.com - OCZ SLI-Ready Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory can I run both of these for 8GB without any problems? Thanks in advance.
what is your operating system

if your not running 64-bit os then dont install the other 4gigs.

im not an expert on this matter, but i like to have all the same sticks (same brand, same model) in my pc's.
__________________

__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 07:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 68
Default Re: New Set of RAM and 750i BIOS Settings

o sry forgot to include im running vista 64bit
Viscin is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 07:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 68
Default Re: New Set of RAM and 750i BIOS Settings

bump..
Viscin is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 08:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default Re: New Set of RAM and 750i BIOS Settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viscin View Post
-What should CPU FSB voltage be set too?
If you're running a stock cpu, leave that setting alone.
Demalii is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 08:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 68
Default Re: New Set of RAM and 750i BIOS Settings

Okay i Changed things up a bit Im running a Q6600 @ 3.2GHZ (8x400) @ 1.41v G.SKill PI at 4-4-4-12 @ 800 MHz and 1.9v Can you tell me what to set the advanced memory timings too?
Viscin is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 09:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: New Set of RAM and 750i BIOS Settings

its good to have matched pairs/trios because they will be able to OC very similarly to each other and you can run them at their tightest timings as with unmatched setups you can only run at the tightest timings both of them can do (plus you might have to fiddle with the Phase Adjustment to get them properly stable)

as for the timings, 4-4-4-12 is your stock settings, so if you're gonna be running them at 800MHz, those will be the first ones to set... your advanced timings look good to me... you can probably set the tWTR to 8 and the tRC to 21 with a bit more voltage, but they're looking fine in that photo
__________________

__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upgrading 750i ftw ram Demalii New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-10-2008 05:51 PM
whoops, fried ram? Demalii Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 06-06-2008 04:56 AM
questions with my new 750i ftw taintedplay New Systems | Building and Buying 2 05-19-2008 06:46 PM
RAM for evga nforce 750i sli TYRRAM Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-24-2008 09:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.