new rig!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2007, 06:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default new rig!!!

so i got my rig today, well most of it. Its all in my sig except i only have 1 card atm. but i did forget to foresee that my power supply is only 400w and has 14a on the 12V.. so when i went to boot her up it just was like HA your kidding right?
so i have to go to compusa tomorrow, and was wondering what i need to look for in my psu. again my specs are in my sig.

also im posting this because once i get this up and running im gonna post some overclocking numbers.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 08:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: new rig!!!

http://img223.imageshack.us/img223/8...06scorepm4.jpg

thats my 3dmark06 score on this rig. 6553... a bit disappointing but thats all no oc'ing. which is my next step!
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 09:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: new rig!!!

A decent 600 - 650W would be fine. The Hiper Type-R would probably work too.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 09:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: new rig!!!

thats with only one 3850?

if so, hot ****, those kick the crap out of my x1900xt
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 09:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: new rig!!!

corsair vx550 or hx520 will be more than enough to run whatever you want and are pretty affordable.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 10:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: new rig!!!

i threw a 520 on my christmas list and am looking at some on ebay.

and yeah its only w/ 1 card. im gonna pick up a 3870 after christmas time.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 11:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: new rig!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
thats with only one 3850?

if so, hot ****, those kick the crap out of my x1900xt
What do you get with the 1900? I get in the low-mid 6000's with my x1950xt, I don't remember exactly.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 03:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: new rig!!!

I think i got a low 7000 with my e6600 @ like 3.4ghz

and my x1900xt at 750/850
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 04:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: new rig!!!

the 3850 cards are much better than the x1900s yes.

I got 7400 with my x1900 @ 750/860 and e6400 @ 3.2ghz...haven't run it with my e6600 yet.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 05:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: new rig!!!

Theres nothing wrong with that score
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Media center pc.. my old rig? or need of an update? zerodayATK New Systems | Building and Buying 5 11-19-2007 03:59 PM
Help with a New Rig LittleWing System Upgrades 12 11-01-2007 06:34 AM
Gaming rig £650 LittleWing New Systems | Building and Buying 35 10-30-2007 01:40 PM
Troubleshooting my rig, pls help Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 3 10-04-2007 02:37 PM
Thinking of a new rig $1400 budget csaefong New Systems | Building and Buying 7 09-25-2007 08:49 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.