New Q6600 running VERY hot - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2008, 03:32 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: New Q6600 running VERY hot

One of them is reading the Mhz of the CPU with it on SpeedStep. Read this: CPU Speed Changing? Speedstep and Cool and Quiet Technology Explained
__________________

__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 05-31-2008, 03:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: New Q6600 running VERY hot

What its doing is throttling down. When your PC isnt using many resources, it throttles down to save power blah blah. There is just a setting in BIOS u need to disable. Disabe C1E and EIST in your BIOS. When I overclock (E8400@ 3.6ghz) I just diable ALL CPU features. Good luck!
__________________

__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 05-31-2008, 04:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 87
Default Re: New Q6600 running VERY hot

I understand speedstep and everything. What I don't understand is THREE different readings of my speeds at ONE time.

immy3 is offline  
Old 05-31-2008, 06:48 PM   #14 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: New Q6600 running VERY hot

You didn't open them all at the same time.

THus the first one you open will have the slowest speed the second one will have the second highest speed and the last one is probably reading the cpu's native speed.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-31-2008, 07:19 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: New Q6600 running VERY hot

Holy crap dude. Your vid is only 1.1625. That thing should overclock like a champ if you get a good cooler.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 05-31-2008, 09:36 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 87
Default Re: New Q6600 running VERY hot

Lol I bought a 40 dollar heatsink that performed poorer than the stock Intel one, I booted up with it and the Bios had the CPU running at 65*!

Thanks for the help though, I'll have to disable those settings in the bios for speedstep.
immy3 is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 07:09 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: New Q6600 running VERY hot

I'm guessing that the aftermarket heatsink you bought wasnt mounted right.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 07:22 AM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: New Q6600 running VERY hot

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Holy crap dude. Your vid is only 1.1625. That thing should overclock like a champ if you get a good cooler.
That's the VID when the chip multi is 6x with speedstep.

When I had my quad I made the same mistake and started freaking out with joy, til the cpu saw load and the VID went up to 1.275 lol. Still clocked like a champ though, 4.05ghz benchable and 3.86ghz stable.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 02:05 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 87
Default Re: New Q6600 running VERY hot

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
I'm guessing that the aftermarket heatsink you bought wasnt mounted right.
There's no way it wasn't...my friend did it and he's done a lot of computers, I watched him. The sink was touching the processor, with a paper thin layer of paste, screwed down tightly. Unless there's a secret way to mount it, I'd say it was mounted correctly. But idk.
immy3 is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 06:39 PM   #20 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: New Q6600 running VERY hot

What thermal paste did you use?

Define thin layer.

And just because someone has done a lot with computers doesn't always mean he/she did it right.

Oh the stories I could tell....
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running XFX nForce 780i W/ Intel Q6600 2.4 GHz-> PROBLEMS. ckiller22 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-07-2008 05:08 AM
Q6600 running slow - WHY? Pass_time_player Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-22-2008 07:06 PM
Laptop running a little hot... Raknor Laptops and Notebooks 4 01-01-2008 12:45 AM
Q6600 G0 running TOOOOO HOT!!!! krazyq Overclocking and Modding 58 12-31-2007 02:30 PM
Q6600 running hot osborne3 Overclocking and Modding 5 09-04-2007 05:37 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.