A new power supply - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2005, 12:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to WelshKorn
Default A new power supply

I was just wondering. If I buy a new powersupply for my pc how easy is it to install. And will it automaticaly give my computer parts the right amount of power or will i have to set it up??
I am lookin to upgrade my powersuply before I start installing new mobo cpu + gfx card. Right now I only have a pci slot.
Also if I do get anew powersupply whats the cheapest kinda quiet one, or which one do you have??
Thanks guys
__________________

WelshKorn is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 01:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
dk
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 62
Default

I'm quite fond of this PSU http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153007

It isn't terribly expensive, and you can adjust the fan speeds so it's really rather quiet. My big 120mm fan drowns out the PSU completely!

Changing a psu isn't hard at all. You simply remove the old one, put in the new one, and plug all the connectors in the appropriate spots (one or 2 for the motherboard, one each for drives, maybe one for your video card). Just watch carefully when you take the old one out and you'll know right where to put the plugs for the new one. Basically all psu's supply the same voltages that every computer needs, so it's just a matter of getting it in the case and plugging everything in.
__________________

dk is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 01:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Never get cheap PSU's!

All you have to do is unscrew your old one (might need a friend to hold it) screw in the new one (again needs someone to hold it in position while you screw it in.) connect all the cables up and turn your PC on.


What motherboard do you have now/what do you plan on gettting? If you are going to get one like the DFI get a 24 pin PSU and get the converter to convert it to 20 pin.

For the PSU's Antec, Thermaltake, OCZ are the ones that you want to get, a bit pricey, but you don't want to get a cheap one, and risk losing your whole PC.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 01:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 133
Default

i am getting a enermax noise taker..
tylerdrude is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 02:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to WelshKorn
Default

wait are there different number of pins??
I have a compaq right now....

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...cname=bph07845

thats my mobo. And i am planning to get:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128286
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...ffiliate=yahoo
WelshKorn is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 02:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

I think OCZ carry among the best PSU IMO. The PSU i have is some off brand. But it does have a 120mm fan and a 80mm fan, with 580watts. Which i need that much power for my cooling system. Its not any kind of mistake going with a off brand, if it has good specs. They are rather simple to produce, unlike a motherboard. They all pretty much use the same design and metals. But i would always get a good brand. Im the type of person that already knows what brands for what hardware i'll be getting. For PSU i'll always go OCZ. So i would consider them.

All you do is connect the PSU. Your hardware will suck the amount of juice needed, so you dont have to control anything like that. Just the wiring can be confusing, but the process is simple.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 03:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

get a thermaltake silent purepower 420

it's only like $30-40 and is a high quality PSU
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 03:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
JDGreen92086's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sellersburg, Indiana
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to JDGreen92086
Default

Okay, I didnt want to make a new thread so I want to ask a question, and maybe give him another option if he so chooses. Is the PSU in my signature pretty good. Should I consider getting another?

Link: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104934
__________________
Newbie since 2005.
JDGreen92086 is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 04:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

yes, that's a very good power supply

probably on-par with the OCZ modstreams, so no need to consider other PSU's
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 04:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to WelshKorn
Default

so there arent different types of powersupplys that i need to consider, as in 20 pin or 18 pin wateva??? A new psu will fit any mobo??
__________________

WelshKorn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.