New PC, newbie pc builder - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2005, 03:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 15
Default New PC, newbie pc builder

Hi guys,
I'm obviously new to this forum. Thanks everyone who replies to this topic. Well i know how to assemble a pc. Right now i have 2 pc's. One emachines 2.5GHz celron processor with 256mb ram. and my babe is an AMD 750Mhz 512 mb ram. I just put a BFG fx5500 oc into it too. It runs alot alot alot faster than my emachines even though its 1/3rd the processor. So i think im going to stick with AMD's.

My budget is less than 500$ as i already have cd/rw and dvdrom drives. And i already have that bfg fx5500 oc 128mb which i got for 49.99. I got a 400 power supply made by duro(probably a POS) so i will get a new power suply.

what i need is a:
motherboard
cpu (fan and heatsink also)
case
powersupply
RAM

i am keen on gettin a AMD 64 bit processor. I was looking to spend the following
200$ on processor
100$ on mobo
50$+50$ on case and power supply
100$ on 1gb ram

Tax returns coming soon so thats my budget.
Let me know what parts you guys suggest. The games i like most are red alert 2 and the rest of the red alert series, unreal tournament's and counter-strike. Will my comp run these games nicely? All help ismuchly appreciated.Thank you
regards
Ryan
__________________

ryanortego is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 03:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Integrated into Chip FSB Socket 939 Processor
http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16819103501
$146

MOBO:ASUS A8V DELUXE ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16813131510
$122

RAM:Kingston 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Dual Channel Kit System Memory
http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16820141423
$83.39

LEFTOVER:$150 for Case and PSU

EDIT: Yes this will run the above games quite well.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 03:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

get the 3200 instead, and i think you can get corsair value ram 1gb for same price as kingston, much better
GageMW is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 03:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 15
Default

Do you guys suggest any specific power supply or case?
ryanortego is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 04:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 15
Default

http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16817163018

how does this look for a power supply?
ryanortego is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 04:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Don't get that - cheap psu's mean you will pay later.

Antec, Thermaltake, OCZ and there are a couple of others that are good as well, but those three are the cream on the cake.

I would stick with the 3000 as there isn't much difference in performance (unless the price is almost the same, than you might as well go for the 3200.)

For future upgrades, you may want to get a more powerful video card, but the 5500 will be fine for a while.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 07:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 413
Default

Thermaltake and Antec and Ultra. Very very very good PSU's.
algu7344 is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 07:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Hard drive?
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 08:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 15
Default

i got a WD 80 gb hard drive 7200 rpm. I have another 40 gb hd too.
ryanortego is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 08:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

you need a new gfx card

but anyways, try getting a thermaltake 480W or antec truepower (anything over 400)
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.