New pc, need help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2005, 11:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Default New pc, need help!

Hi, I need help urgently, i have just built my own pc and have tried to boot it up, but after attempting to boot it up it shuts down after glimpsing the main start up screen?

Any suggestions would be very helpful as i have a brand new pc and cant do anything with it

thanks,

adam
__________________

O-Jay is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 11:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Default

if you need any more details just ask thanks
__________________

O-Jay is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 12:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

What main screen are you talking about? The one that says "ASUS" or a Windows start up screen?
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 12:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Default

well i can only glimpse but its the asus one, the very very first one, i havent even got round to installin windows yet
O-Jay is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 01:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

well im a newb so i cant help but.... damn thats a nice system
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 01:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Default

thanks, but you now see the prediciment im in, because i cant get my hands on it so annoying.
O-Jay is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 01:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 162
Default

This is how your PC boots:

BIOS -> POST -> MBR -> Operating System

Sooo basically this is what is happening:

When you press power, the BIOS runs POST (Power On Self-Test) which tests all of your critical hardware components to verify that everything is working properly. POST then exits and the MBR (Master Boot Record) is loaded to seek out where the operating system is. If there's no operating system, your computer will either halt or reboot.

Load up your BIOS setup (DEL key at startup during the Asus screen) and check to make sure that your boot order boots the cdrom before the hard drive, and then put the windows CD in your cdrom and reboot. Install Windows and all will be fine.
__________________
http://www.eraserinc.com/ims/pic.php?u=5VNS3T&i=103
Advanced Geeks - Advanced Technology Forums.
Have a technical question that no one here has an answer to? Ask certified professionals! Try us out!
We need your help!
AdvancedGeeks.com requires knowledgable mods and users to help handle a variety of tasks. PM me for more info.
caseyc is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 01:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Well i dont know whether im just been too slow but i cant seem to get into the bios when I hit the delete key. But you just think its halting because it cant find where my OS is? if so this is great as i thought it wud be a greater problem than that. I will give it another go when im at my mums house on friday, and try get into the bios before it shuts down.

thanks alot for all your help
O-Jay is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 01:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 162
Default

Hmm, how fast does it shut down? How long is the asus screen displayed?
__________________
http://www.eraserinc.com/ims/pic.php?u=5VNS3T&i=103
Advanced Geeks - Advanced Technology Forums.
Have a technical question that no one here has an answer to? Ask certified professionals! Try us out!
We need your help!
AdvancedGeeks.com requires knowledgable mods and users to help handle a variety of tasks. PM me for more info.
caseyc is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 01:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Default

you can barely glimpse it i.e. not long
__________________

O-Jay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.