new Pc LenD a HanD! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2007, 12:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 277
Default what should I do ?

Got my NEW rig up JUST now. It's fasssssssssst wow. wow. It's so much fun installing things. It's like zooooooooooooooom! Here are my specs. I was wondering (I'll be looking at knowledgeable posters as I am very nervous to have anything go wrong!) what performance enhancements like BIOS or something else I can do and play around with.. KEEPING IN MIND NOTHING DRAMATIC OR *RISKY.

Also, it's avg 73-77F inside the case... This is decently alright?


> AMD X2 4600+
> 2GB Corsair XMS2 Xtreme Performance DDR2 RAM
> Gigabyte M55SLI SLI/1394
> 300GB SATA 7200 8MB Cache Seagate SATA ll
> (2) Geforce 7600GT - 256M PCI-E SLI*
> Windows XP Media Center Edition
> (5) 80MM Neon Green Case Fans w/drive power connector
(2 air-in from; 1 air-in sidecar; 2 air-our rear)
> Thermaltake 700 Watt PS
> Sony DVD +- R Dual Layer
> Sony DVD ROM
> 12'' Neon Green Cool Cathode Light
> Creative 5.1 Sound System
> Xtreme Sound 7.1 / 24 bit
>> using 'GreenMachine' Case, 19" NEC LCD MultiSync 90GX2 OptiClear, Razer mouse and pad, hp psc 1350 all-in-one, and standard HP keyboard.

-Recommended benchmark programs and things of this nature to test out her strength ?
-Just downloaded 3Dmark '06

updated sig soon
GreenMachine is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 01:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 277

TELL me if you think overclocking here wouldn't really be worth it. example... performance wouldn't be noticed.. life of part might/will decrease.

CMOS Setup Utility
MS Intelligent Tweaker

-- CPU Frequency [200]
will go to just over 400 max

--PCIE Clock [100Mhz]
will do 150 max

--CPU Clock Ratio [Auto]
x5 - x12 max

--Robust Graphics Booster [Auto]
there's Fast then Turbo

..then there's voltage settings. 3 or 4 changeables

updated sig soon
GreenMachine is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 03:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068

whats ur current cpu temp in C?

also, how is MCE, im might be getting it
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 03:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 277

warmest I've seen it running 3Dmark, and when installing 3 things at once..
at 78 degrees F,
or 25.555555555555557 degrees C .

I'll let you know more of MCE when i really explore and have greater ability to compare/contrast. So far it has exceeded my expectations.

*I enable SLI mode in my settings and PCPITSTOP says RedFlag Serious Problem, but then i take it off it's good to go... ?
updated sig soon
GreenMachine is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 04:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
CrazeD's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD

I can tell you first off to leave the PCI-e clock at 100MHz, as it could fry your cards if you mess with it.

As for the CPU, read the overclocking guide at the top of the forum.

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 04:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417

Thats a nice system you built there, GOOOO AMD

If you dont know what your doing then dont OC it, im not sure why you want to after you just built it anyway, it should be fast enough for anything you throw at it, even mine is

Oh whats your 3DMARK 06 score?
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 10:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
Nagasama's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956

yeah green machine!
man i bet that thing smokes. the temps you listed are great!
im curious, is that cpu an ee (energy efficient) model? i cant remember if they made a 4600 or not, i dont think so tho.
dude of course overclocking is worth it, lol! but you need to read up and get an idea of the principle. it is very difficult to permanently screw something up while overclocking.
okay, you need to overclock because:
1) i need to see how high that x12 multi will let you go.
2)i'd like to see how far that gigabyte board will let you go (been thinking about getting a new mobo)
3)dude if you dont o.c. with that ram you're crazy. you can probably stabilize that stuff at well over 500mhz if it's ddr2 800.
hahaha so you need to overclock and give me some info hahaha...
congrats on your new rig! lemme know if i can help you tune that beast up.
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 12:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700

I would have gotten at 7900 gs or 7950 gt instead of two 7600 gt.
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 02:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon

Not too shabby (except those twin 7600's... ouch). Have you tried running 3DMark05 yet? I want to see how yours goes up against mine...
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 03:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417

ok so thats 3DMARK 06 and 05 score that are requested!

jonny_uk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.