New PC Config - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2005, 04:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 135
Default New PC Config

Here's the specs:

Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+ Socket 939 512KB
Corsair 2Gb (2 x 1Gb) DDR400 PC3200
Viewsonic VX924 19" TFT LCD 4ms Response Time
Abit AN8 nForce4 Ultra Motherboard
Maxtor Diamondmax 250Gb SATA 7200rpm 16Mb Cache
XFX nVidia GeForce 7800 GTX 256Mb
Enermax 600W Noisetaker
NEC ND-3520A Black Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
Sony 3.5" FDD


Extreme Gaming Spider Case
Windows XP Professional
Logitek MX510
Saitek Eclipse

How does that sound? Would any of you change anything (bare in mind, that's at the top end of my budget, so could you suggest any changes that cost around the same price?)

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
<center>Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+ 512KB l Gigabyte GA-K8N-XP Sli Motherboard l XFX GeForce 7800 GTX 256Mb (450/1250) l OCZ 2Gb (2 x 1Gb) Dual Channel Platinum Series DDR400 l Maxtor Diamondmax 250Gb SATA 7200rpm 16Mb Cache l Enermax 600W Noisetaker l NEC ND-3540A Black Dual Layer DVD+/-RW l Sony 3.5\" FDD l Black Coolermaster Aerogate 2 Fan Controller l Extreme Gaming Spider Case l Viewsonic VX924 19\" TFT 4ms Response Time l Logitek MX518 l Saitek Eclipse l Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2</center>
the deceived is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 11:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

That is a nice very nice system. I would not change nothing unless you are OCing.
__________________

__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 12:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

Don't forget arctic silver 5 thermal compound. Looks good.

Roger
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 12:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
Send a message via Yahoo to kingcorona1212
Default

WOW looks amazing wish i had the money for that stuff i would get a DFI LANPARTY board though, MSI and DFI make great boards and i would also get an FX55 processor or one of the FX processors i only say this because they are great processors for gaming and there really is no need fo a dual core processor right now i think there are only 1 or 2 games on the market right now that actually use dual core even though they dont need them and unless you are using a CAD program and playing a game like battlefield 2 at the same time you dont need it.
kingcorona1212 is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 12:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Yes but it is good for FUTUREPROOF reasons. Technology always advances and it is always better to have a comp for today and tomorrow instead of just today.

Looks great, stick w/ the X2 line...
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 02:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
Send a message via Yahoo to kingcorona1212
Default

I would still go with the FX line even thought the X2 might be future ready if you think about it what game even in the future is going to need dual core theres no need for it go with the FX its a better processor the X2 are jsut the regular lets say 3500+ with 2 cores no biggy go with the FX bro TRUST ME!!!!
kingcorona1212 is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 05:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 135
Default

That is exactly what I was thinking Counter-Strike, and due to me leaving for uni in a months time, I ideally want it to last for the majority of my course.

I hear where your coming from kingcorona1212, but the thing is, I will be using CAD and a lot of computer games programming at the same time and I need something that can handle the two.

The one thing I probably will change in light of some new money is the RAM. I just found out that that RAM I specified isn't the XMS version and so wouldn't really do the same job as say an OCZ 2Gb (2 x 1Gb) Dual Channel Performance Series (or possibly the Platinum Series).

One question I do have is that my CPU comes with a factory standard cooler, and personally I don't think that will be enough to keep it cool(er). What cooler would you recommend? And if I was to change the cooler, does it break the warranty?

Thanks very much!
__________________
<center>Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+ 512KB l Gigabyte GA-K8N-XP Sli Motherboard l XFX GeForce 7800 GTX 256Mb (450/1250) l OCZ 2Gb (2 x 1Gb) Dual Channel Platinum Series DDR400 l Maxtor Diamondmax 250Gb SATA 7200rpm 16Mb Cache l Enermax 600W Noisetaker l NEC ND-3540A Black Dual Layer DVD+/-RW l Sony 3.5\" FDD l Black Coolermaster Aerogate 2 Fan Controller l Extreme Gaming Spider Case l Viewsonic VX924 19\" TFT 4ms Response Time l Logitek MX518 l Saitek Eclipse l Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2</center>
the deceived is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 11:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 413
Default

Actually, instead of getting the maxtor I would get a western digital or seagate. Maxtor is kinda ehhh. Everything else looks sweet though.
algu7344 is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 04:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 135
Default

Yeah, I heard that Maxtor were a company not to trust due their 1 year warranty thing but the one I'm buying has 3 years, and I'll probably uprgade before the third year.

Thanks for the info though!
__________________
<center>Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+ 512KB l Gigabyte GA-K8N-XP Sli Motherboard l XFX GeForce 7800 GTX 256Mb (450/1250) l OCZ 2Gb (2 x 1Gb) Dual Channel Platinum Series DDR400 l Maxtor Diamondmax 250Gb SATA 7200rpm 16Mb Cache l Enermax 600W Noisetaker l NEC ND-3540A Black Dual Layer DVD+/-RW l Sony 3.5\" FDD l Black Coolermaster Aerogate 2 Fan Controller l Extreme Gaming Spider Case l Viewsonic VX924 19\" TFT 4ms Response Time l Logitek MX518 l Saitek Eclipse l Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2</center>
the deceived is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 04:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Try an eVGA card and not an XFX, eVGA make an overclocked one with a real cooler at the same speeds as XFX.

And go all the way for an mx-518 or Razer Diamondback / Copperhead
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.