New to OCing - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2008, 02:43 AM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: New to OCing

ok

first: go into cpuz, and tell me your voltage
second:go into core temp, and tell me your vid and temps

Were going to start with ocing your cpu, then move on to the gpu.
You really need to find out if you have the stock heat sink or a different one. Because with the stock you are not going to get far ocing.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 02:48 AM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Default Re: New to OCing

CPuz Voltage- 1.200V
Core Temp - Vid @ 1.1500 V
Core 0 - 49 C
Core 1 - 48 C
Core 2 - 45 C
Core 3 - 46 C

The temps are constanly fluctuating as you probably know, but its basically by one degree up or down lol. As for the multiplier - the bios itself says that the multiplier is at 8x, but CPUz AND that nVidia program you told me not to use say its at 6x. Im probably getting ahead of myself, but im confused with that
__________________

JLL_Med is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 02:56 AM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: New to OCing

ok, you are definitely on your stock cooler with temps like that. Your vid is pretty good, and ur voltage is a little high for stock clocks, buts that's ok. yes the temps are constantly fluctuating. It says 6x because intel speed step is on, you can turn this off in the bios, as it some times hurts ocing. Don't ask me where in the bios as it changes, but it should be somewhere near where u overclock.

For now i need to get some sleep though, so we shall continue this in the morning.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 03:12 AM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Hehe, okidoke, thanks. Cya tommorow =)

Just so you know, i turned the intel speed step off, and CPUz still displayed 6x as the multiplier (but sometimes would flip over to 8x for a sec then back), but the core temps were a bit higher, so something happened that increased processing yet not the permanent 8x multiplier. That nVidia program showed the 8x though. just a small fyi =) thanks again, cya in the mornin
JLL_Med is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 11:03 AM   #25 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: New to OCing

Quote:
CPuz Voltage- 1.200V
Core Temp - Vid @ 1.1500 V
Core 0 - 49 C
Core 1 - 48 C
Core 2 - 45 C
Core 3 - 46 C
whoah? i thought Q9450's had a vid of around .8 or something? that seems like a lot for a 45nm CPU
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 01:30 PM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: New to OCing

^it's not bad. I think there might be another setting with intel you have to turn off maybe, but im not sure as i didn't have to turn off anything other then speed step.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 01:33 PM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Default Re: New to OCing

Meh, the multiplier is 8x in all the important programs cept CPUz, and even with that it more often than not displays 8x rather than 6x. im not too worried =)
JLL_Med is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 01:45 PM   #28 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: New to OCing

sometimes cpuz can give bad readings.

Anyway, just so you see what this will do, go into coretemp and look at the speed, remember it. Now go into your bios and up the fsb 50 (if it is a three digit number,) and 100 if it is a 4 digit number.

before you do this tell me what it is at before you change anything.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 02:04 PM   #29 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Default Re: New to OCing

Current FSB is a 4 digit number, 1333.3
JLL_Med is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 02:53 PM   #30 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: New to OCing

I would suggest getting a third party heatsink with TX-2 thermal grease before overclocking, just to be on the safe side. I recommend a true, xigamatek rifle, or vendetta 2.
__________________

__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ocing q660 and other. Luke Overclocking and Modding 16 03-03-2008 04:58 PM
Buying a mobo, CPU and RAM for ocing thenovices New Systems | Building and Buying 5 11-14-2007 01:14 AM
OC'ing AMD: Duron, Thunderbird and Palamino jfenwick Overclocking and Modding 0 10-24-2007 03:09 PM
OCing: X2 3600+, evga 8800, and RAM jfenwick Overclocking and Modding 45 08-25-2007 05:23 AM
Vista Ocing nerdygeek Overclocking and Modding 4 08-05-2007 07:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.