New to OCing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2008, 10:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Default New to OCing

Hey everyone, first post, thanks in advance for the welcomes =) I just recently purchased a gaming computer through Dell (try not to hate me for it, its a good company and i already had a sizable account with them =). Im not sure the specifics of my motherboard or ram (probably Dell brand, if such a thing exists), but i was thinking that you all could help me with a safe OC for the ram, the proc and the GPU. The GPU comes with a really easy to use OCing interface, so all i need are safe numbers and ill follow your lead.

GPU - nVidia GeForce GTX 280 1024MB
CPU - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 2.66Ghz 1333FSB
Ram - 4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz

Those of you who have the GTX 280 probably know about the easy to use interface, so didn't think that i needed to put a screen shot. And one final thing, I have no clue what cooling...thingy my proc uses. So ill save you a "what cooling system you are using" question by saying that lol. As for the specific speeds, i just want stability and safety, cuz if something goes really wrong that i might have to go into Bios or something, i would be lost. Basically im looking for a 0-5% chance of crazy krap happening lol. Thanks again everyone =)
__________________

JLL_Med is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 12:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: New to OCing

Well first off that "cooling thingy" is called a heatsink, can you tell us what mobo your using? Also is the heatsink your using a stock one from intel, or a third party one? After that I can help you overclock But I will add that the q9450 is a little picky with volts and heat so it may be a long and grueling process.
__________________

__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 12:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Default Re: New to OCing

I was actually on the phone with a Dell dude for another problem all together when i read your reply. I asked about the heat sink and mobo. He said that the mobo is a nVidia 650 and that he wasn't sure about the heat sink. So, for now lets assume that its the stock sink to be on the safe side =) Btw, where do you think i should post a question about visual issues with my monitor? I was on the phone with the Dell dude for over an hour and we just ended up replacing my monitor (but i so highly doubt that is the issue). Im not sure if its the resolution settings, a hardware issue, etc. etc. but maybe one of you wise-ones can tell me where to start (or should i just wait for the new one)
JLL_Med is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 12:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: New to OCing

So wait, its a dell?
__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 12:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Default Re: New to OCing

Yessir, said it in original post not to bash me so much for it!!! hehe
JLL_Med is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 01:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: New to OCing

Sorry bro you cannot overclock a Dell, they have locked BIOS, the only way to be able to overclock is to go custom...
__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 01:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Default Re: New to OCing

Huh? But my graphics card comes with a whole little program-like thing that lets me change all the values for voltage and crap. The Dell dude told me "you can use this to overclock, but we dont support it if something goes wrong". The way i see it, if i do something safe then they can stick their support up their...
JLL_Med is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 01:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: New to OCing

Never change voltages through a program, its not safe you can harm your hardware that way. You CAN overclock your graphics card using ntune from nvidia, which may be the only component that can be overclocked. Can you go to your systems BIOS real fast and tell me if there are options for voltages, clocks, etc.
__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 01:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 28
Default Re: New to OCing

That program im talking about allows changes in virtually everything i think you would need to overclock. FSB Clock, Cooling, Voltages for the CPU, and loads of crap for the GPU/RAM/MoBo. The only thing that seems that cant be changed from this program is CPU Frequency and Multiplier. And on that note, i was under the impression that the multiplier for this CPU was 8x,not 6x (which is what it is stuck at now). Can i change THAT through BIOS? Cuz the program is basically telling me NONE OF THAT! lol.
JLL_Med is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 01:12 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: New to OCing

Yes I know, its the Nvidia Performance Application. But like I said NEVER overclock using a program like that unless its for a video card; in which case you would use ATItool to overclock the video card. Can you tell me if your BIOS has options for voltages, clocks, fan speed?

So what I am trying to say is if you want to overclock your video card I can help you do that with ATItool, but if your BIOS doesn't have voltage, and clocks etc, then you risk damaging your other hardware by changing it through the nvidia performance application.
__________________

__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ocing q660 and other. Luke Overclocking and Modding 16 03-03-2008 04:58 PM
Buying a mobo, CPU and RAM for ocing thenovices New Systems | Building and Buying 5 11-14-2007 01:14 AM
OC'ing AMD: Duron, Thunderbird and Palamino jfenwick Overclocking and Modding 0 10-24-2007 03:09 PM
OCing: X2 3600+, evga 8800, and RAM jfenwick Overclocking and Modding 45 08-25-2007 05:23 AM
Vista Ocing nerdygeek Overclocking and Modding 4 08-05-2007 07:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.