new motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2005, 11:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 187
Default new motherboard

hey as in my previous post im having a hard time getting my asus a8v to recognize my agp video card, i have a feeling im going to be replacing the motherboard, since im running out of solutions. What motherboard should i get if this happens? I would like the motherboard to be one that close to no one has had problems with and not from asus. it has to have agp and 939 socket. thanks for the help
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Shark
OCZ 700W GameXStream
Asus M2N32 SLI
AM2 X2 5600
Corsair XMS 2x1GB
Western Digital Raptor 150 GB
2xBFG 7950GT
AZNRockThis is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 03:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

You can get third eye, I think that is AGP
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 05:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

i just bought the msi k8n neo 2 platinum. it has live update which i like, and is cheap. i havent built my computer but i will tomorrow so ill let you know what its like. a ton of my friends have this and they all say its ROCK solid, if you bought a cheap processor and are relying on ocing to make it better you probably will want abit then, as i have heard this is not the best for ocing.
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 10:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Is that Asus your NEW mobo? Also, what video card did you have before the 6800 came along?
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 10:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

dude if you want to upgrade to pci-e ill buy your 6800 gt for 300 bucks
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 11:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 187
Default

no thanks im keeping the graphics card, i decided to do a little upgrading on the college system
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Shark
OCZ 700W GameXStream
Asus M2N32 SLI
AM2 X2 5600
Corsair XMS 2x1GB
Western Digital Raptor 150 GB
2xBFG 7950GT
AZNRockThis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.