New Mobo. and Pro. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2004, 11:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 241
Default New Mobo. and Pro.

Im thinking of upgrading my PC for Xmas. At the minute i have only a SiS730S motherboard which only supports AGP 2x and has a AMD Anthon 1500+ or similar at 1.2ghz.

I'm wondering what motherboard i should get which is quite near the top, doesn't need to be the best but supports AMD processors because i want to get a AMD Anthon 64 or something like that processsor, but i dont want to be paying absolutely a lot of money too but i want it pretty good. I live in UK so please if you can only tell me ones that have been released in the UK.

Also, I want to know if the cables and that from my old pc should be ok with the new motherboard or will i need to pay for them too. I don't want to be 'ripped off' when buying some of this stuff. Some computer repair guys think they're all that and try misleading you, i dont want this to happen and want some knowledge before hand.

Amidamaru is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 12:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 70

get an asus or gigabyte amd 64 mobo for like around 130$usd and then a amd 64bit 939skt for around 290$

dont know about any sites that sell to uk cuz i've never tried.


xcoreyx is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 01:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582

i think alot of sites will ship to uk from us, you may pay extra but it could be worth it in the long run... also your power cables, speakers, mouse, keyboard and all that should work... i like to keep my ide cables and such from old computers they should work too if you go for the same type of drives. you will prolly want a new grafix card to go with your new stuff too, from what ive seen the ATI x800 is at the top of the line right now even tho lots will tell you to go nvidia.

also i would definitely get a board that supports dual channel memory, i wouldnt go for pcie(pci express) the additional bandwidth it will bring to graphix is totally unnecessary for the coming years.

Hope i helped a little, im no computer whiz...

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 08:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

get an asus or gigabyte amd 64 mobo
Hell no! DO NOT get either of those boards. Both are ridiculously crappy. ASUS sucks balls and has been for a while now. Their quality has gone way downhill and after this post I expect Ag3 to step in and backup this claim. Also I expect him to backup the claim that gigabyte boards do not support the latest and fastest low timings.

Go with an Abit or MSI Board. Try to go for a Socket 939 as those will be better in the long run because AMD will upgrade them and they support dual Channel. Both mobo's are about $125 US and the cheapest socket 939 chip is the 3500+ I believe at $350 US.

If you go with either manufacturer and socket 939 get the ABit AV8-3rd Eye or the MSI Neo2-Platinum. I just built a 64 system with the MSI Neo2-Platinum and it's EXCELLENT. It's corecenter program reads your temps and fan speeds quite nicely and it has quite a bit of options in the BIOS if you chose to overclock.

Conclusion: Socket 939, ABit AV8-3rd Eye, or MSI Neo2-Platinum

EDIT: BTW, if you can mustar up cash for a SATA 10,000 RPM drive you should go for it. They are amazing. Windows is up and loaded in about 15 seconds. Real quick load times, file copy times, and installation times. Really comes in handy on that first format with windows updates and restarts galore.
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-23-2004, 12:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010

If you want a good uk site try and/or (this site is a bit slow though, so it might find it a bit annoying for when you are trying to put together a computer to get a ruth idea)

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 07:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

they have 3200+'s in socket 939

Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.