new mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2004, 10:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 14
Default new mobo

I figured out that the problem with my computer was a bad motherboard, so that means I will be needing to replace it. I want to stick with a socket A simply cause I don't have the cash for a 64 cpu right now. What are some good brands to look at? And, this is probably a noob question, but if the board has a nvidia chipset, would there be compatibilty issues with an ati video card?
__________________

nero is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 11:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

I would go with one of the Abit NF7 Series boards, I owned the NF7-S, worked perfectly, and had more features than I could use. As for compatability, you won't have any problem using the Nvidia chipset, which is on the NF7 Series boards, and using an ATI Card.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 06:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

I would also stick with the Abit NF7 series.
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 01:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I would also stick with the Abit NF7 series
I'm gonna 3rd that
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 03:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 14
Default

Well then, I spose I'll probably go for that. the only downside is the lack of video, so It'll be a few weeks before I can afford the card I want so I can actually do anything.
nero is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 06:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Ahh yes....well onboard video sucks anyway and just causes a lot of system slow down. Especially if you want to play games. As it is onboard sound can mess up quite a bit especially if your computer is playing an intense game requiring a lot of power. Onboard peripherals are somewhat buggy still I think and just take more communication power between the CPU and whatnot. So I think you'll be better off and happier with an actual graphics card and not just onboard.
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 11:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 14
Default

Well yes of course. However, i was hoping to use the onboard video so i could have a monitor. I could at least play hl or somethin without a card. I was going to get the card after I got money again, now I just gotta do it all at once. Probably easier this way actually. Is there any brand preference on vid cards? MSI or Sapphire? Lookin at 9800pro.
nero is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 11:31 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

"Well then, I spose I'll probably go for that. the only downside is the lack of video, so It'll be a few weeks before I can afford the card I want so I can actually do anything."

What, don't you have a video card????
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 11:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

"Well then, I spose I'll probably go for that. the only downside is the lack of video, so It'll be a few weeks before I can afford the card I want so I can actually do anything."

What, don't you have a video card????

For a video card, MSI.......well, with my 9800Pro, It was the source of all my probs, but I managed to fix it. Only one man's opion though. I've not used a Sapphire card before, so I dunno about it.
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 05:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I've never used a Sapphire card either. Only ones I've ever had are Visiontek and Chaintech I believe, next I'm lookin to get eVGA brand card. I have an MSI board and it's treated me good. I don't think you could go wrong with an MSI based card, but I haven't ever bought ATI so ag3 needs to be here for that. ooooh and I'm sure he will be. He's always lurking in the shadows waiting to tackle my nvidia praises.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.