New HL2 level. - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2005, 12:46 AM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

are there any screenshots floating around ????
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 12:50 AM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by VIII
w00t w00t.. i can not wait to see this!!!
I wish I could be saying that, but I am going to have to drop another $400 or so on a video card just to be able to play this. It looks like the PS 3.0 days are here sooner than everybody thought.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 01:00 AM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

Yeah.. I hope im equipped for the next year. Coming from a gforce4 with no Pixel Shader at all to a 6600GT with px3.0 I was left staring at my screen as older games got a new life... I cant even imagine what 3 is gona look like.. *drewL*

As for your card, i really think you should try selling it.. I mean what have you got to lose... a POS right ?
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 01:08 AM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Well, I want to have a 6800 GT or better in my computer before I sell this. I can't go without a graphics card. And I don't consider my 9200SE PCI thats laying around a graphics card.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 01:13 AM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

Well save 100 or so $.. then sell ur x800pro for the remainder and order a 68 same day... :P if u dont sell it now, words gona really get out that the pro suxors and no1 will buy it
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 01:26 AM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

There are some on ebay for $20-$30 lol....

That really says something about this graphics card.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 10:46 AM   #27 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

HDR technology will benefit PS 3.0 rendering technology, and HDR is slowly migrating to PC games, which basically excludes ATi until that point, I'm not denying that.

But have any of you who are promoting nVidia seen any nVidia card benchmarked in a PS3.0 enviroment. Just because a card *has* something, it doesn't mean it can use it effectively. Take an FX5500 for example, it *has* 256MB and Doom 3 needs that kind of VRAM in higher resolutions, but does that mean it'll play Doom 3?

I've been reading up on HDR and it needs a lot of requirements, it needs a hell of a lot of FPRT bits, ATi has 24, nVidia has 32, and people are doubting that either will be able to truly demonstrate HDR. Most people who seem to have tried out HDR find its image quality pretty bad because their cards just aren't powerful enough.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 03:04 PM   #28 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

the AGP versions still cost a lot

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...183186282&rd=1
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...183306923&rd=1
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...182503357&rd=1

and those things still got 1 more day left in them before the auction closes

maybe you can try ebaying your and claim that it's been outta the box and tested or something
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 04:08 PM   #29 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
I wish I could be saying that, but I am going to have to drop another $400 or so on a video card just to be able to play this. It looks like the PS 3.0 days are here sooner than everybody thought.
You don't need to drop $400, dude. The 6800 series has dropped about $100 in price recently.

Oh well, we knew PS3.0 was coming down the line. That's why I bought a card that could handle the new technologies coming.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 05:17 PM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Take an FX5500 for example, it *has* 256MB and Doom 3 needs that kind of VRAM in higher resolutions, but does that mean it'll play Doom 3?
well to be honest, the amount of VRAM im comparison to a particular GPU instruction is pretty different
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.