New hardrives Pc keeps shutting down - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2004, 04:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 44
Send a message via AIM to Dragan Send a message via Yahoo to Dragan
Default New hardrives Pc keeps shutting down

Hi Guys i just built a pc a while ago is had 2 80gighardrives but now i have 6 and my pc keeps shutting down here the specs

Ipex t400 case the whole thing is full!!!
6 Hardrive
1.60GIG
2.80GIG
3.160GIG
4.40GIG
5.80GiG
6. 200GIG

Amd Athlon 2400+ never been overclocked
768Mb Ram
Sony 4x dvd burner
winfast 2000 Tv tuner card
8 case fan 6exhaust 2 intake



The Problem with my pc is that all the 6 hardrives are touching each other and the case temp is some where near 53C and da cpu is about 48C When there was only 2 hardrives my pc temp was Case23C CPU 23C Now since i installed an extra 4 hardrives
the temp is high and my pc keeps shuttin down i have a 500 watt powersupply and my case fans and my dvd burner run off a seperate Power supply wich is 350watt I have wasted alot of money on this project and now i need desperate help my case is so heavy that my desk is squeaking every time i move it and my first 2 hardrives are full and i need the storage space if you know wat i mean i got 120Gig of music im making an archive of all the music artists A to Z and i have not even finished A yet so if anyone got any ideas please bring them foward
__________________

__________________
DRAGAN
Dragan is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 05:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

First of all put your computer on the floor before you damage something

Second it is clear that your case requires extreme cooling, 25C is an average case temperature with that amount of fans.

You should definitely invest in external hard drives or at least get yourself an extra case to move hard drives accross. It is not a good idea to have hard drives that close together.
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 08:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

Bleh.. dont put your case on the floor where dust is even worse, maybe one of the drives is going bad or is bad, everytime that drive is acessed it's possible that it could crash your pc.
Demalii is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 08:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kangaroo
First of all put your computer on the floor before you damage something

Second it is clear that your case requires extreme cooling, 25C is an average case temperature with that amount of fans.

You should definitely invest in external hard drives or at least get yourself an extra case to move hard drives accross. It is not a good idea to have hard drives that close together.
I have 2 in / 1 out and I get 25c case temp, is that good?
Pac0 is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 04:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

uhh does ur power supply have ENOUGH power?
6 hd's is alot
__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 10:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

25W per hard drive... I worked it out and it seems your PSU is well within limits... providing it isn't a cheap PSU.

ASUS Recommends.
Under-rated POWER SUPPLIES

If the max amps on your supply are less than:

28A +3.3v, 32A +5v and 16A +12v then you need a better one IN MOST CASES. This is not always true and is dependent on how much hardware is in your rig. You may not have an issue now but overdrawing a power supply that is working today can lead to problems down the road and if/when that supply fails it can and will take out other components with it when it dies.
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.