New Computer - Help needed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2004, 08:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25
Unhappy New Computer - Help needed

I need to research/select/order all tonight lol. If anyone is on please help me out for it is badly needed.

(around 1500 1600 limit USD)

-Game Design
-Video Editing
-Gaming

Case :: 100 USD :: Cooler Master Praetorian Black ALUMINUM MID-TOWER CASE

PSU :: 60 USD :: Rosewill 500W Im having trouble picking one out

CPU :: Still looking for AMD 64 (if the 64 is worth it 3000+ to OC nice bus speed possibly the Hypertransport if amd has it

Motherboard :: 140 USD :: MSI "K8N Neo2 Platinum" NVIDIA nForce3 ULTRA ??? help pls!

Memory :: 250 USD :: CORSAIR XMS Xtreme Memory Speed Series, Xtra-Low Latency 184-Pin 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200 w/ Heat Spreader Does the low lag make any difference? Or would a cheaper one be better, i do plan on overclocking.

Video Card :: 400 USD :: EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT Video Card ???

Sound Card ::

Monitor ::

Hard Drive :: Already own a 120gig 7200 Western Digital

DVD-ROM ::


I already have a 120gig hard drive so another one isnt needed yet if the money is better spent else where. I know im going to need a cooler if i overclock but anrt sure which one. If something you see here isn't the best in that field please feel free to suggest something

Thanks a lot
__________________

sharpobjectss is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 09:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

For the sound card just get a Creative audigy 2 or the value version for like $30-$50. Doesn't really matter what dvd-rom but look for a lite-on or toshiba. As for the monitor I'd suggest going to the store to pick out a monitor that's on display so you can see the differance in clarity. Everything else looks good and should make for a killer gaming pc. P.S. It's really similiar to mine.
__________________

__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 09:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

Oh, for the cpu. Get the boxed version of whichever one best fits in your budget that's socket 939. Right now with AMD cpu's the more money it costs, the higher the clock speed which also means it will perform better...
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 10:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25
Default

hey thanks for the info. yea it is pretty similar, and if you live in Huntingon on Long Island then I live a town over from you in Commack.

How do you like your system btw? And around how much did it cost you?
sharpobjectss is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 10:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 251
Default

It all looks good. I'd get a better CPU than the 3000+ since your budget more than allows it.
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
Forchunet is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 10:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 25
Default

I was told by a friend that the 3000 can overclock to speeds around 4000. what type of cooling would i need if i were to overclock? I may opt for the 3500 however.
sharpobjectss is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 05:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

well the AMD 3000+ with good air cooling like the Venus twelve and 5 or so case fans should go about 39-45% over defult speeds. but it might be worth making sure that you get a better qolity PSU so that it doesn't stuff up and melt everything (my friend melted 2 motherboards and cpu's beacause of a dodgy PSU i'd recoment either ANTEC true power or a Thermaltake 420 watt
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 05:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

If you want a good upgrade option it might also be worth considering waiting till the ASUS A8N-SLI mobo comes out as that would allow you to have 2 PCI-E graphics cards
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.