new case/cooling - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2005, 06:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default new case/cooling

I just bought a Thermaltake Armor case and now im looking at water cooling.

heres what i am thinking of getting. I dont really wanna spend more than 250usd.

CPU Block:
Swiftech MCW6002-64 for AMD® K8 Athlon™64 & Opteron™ $45

Pump:
Swiftech MCP650 12v DC Pump $74

Radiator:
Black Ice Pro II Dual 120mm Radiator $50

Reservoir:
Blue UV Reactive Tundra Single 5.25" Bay Reservoir $30

Fans:
2x Panaflo 120x38mm High Speed $32

Tubing:
5ft x Tygon 1/2in. ID 5/8in. OD Laboratory Tubing #R3603 $10

Extras:
Swiftech CoolSleeves 500 $3

TOTAL $244.00 + shipping so around $250

Will this be a good setup? Anything i forgot or any small part i forgot?

Thanks
__________________

Um_Help is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 06:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

looks good.
__________________

phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 07:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 284
Default

i would get Danger Den parts, i like them more than swifttech
comrad is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 07:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default

which models do you suggest? Where is a good place to buy them?

AMD64 3500+
Um_Help is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 07:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

www.dangerden.com
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 07:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Yes, go to DangerDen. They are the top-line liquid cooling company. You can either configure your own system, or just but a kit.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 07:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

yea but its pretty expensive though
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-28-2005, 10:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Whats the difference between the RDX and the TDX cpu blocks? Yea the kits are way to expensive.

Edit:

After looking at the different pumps i began to wonder what the difference was between the Swiftech MCP650 12v DC Pump and the The Danger Den DD12V-D4 they both look exactly the same to me. Im sure they probably use the same motors and such.

At the moment i think i may change the pump and the cpu block to the Danger Den brand about the same price. Not sure on the block because i dont really know the difference between the RDX and the TDX blocks. ill probably switch to the Danger Den DD12V-D4 pump. Also, What kind of additives do i need for the water, so stuff doesnt grow inside?
Um_Help is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 01:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

It would be better if you would buy a complete set with everything you needed in one package. That way you would be sure you purchased all the right parts.
__________________

__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.