New Budget of 620$$!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2005, 06:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Yes. it all depends on the processor. The stock GHZ mean nothing almost when it comes to overclocking.
__________________

__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 06:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

so any venice core can OC just as easily 3000+
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 06:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Yes that is correct. AMD tests their processors only to run at the rated speeds, but it does not mean that the processors can't do more than their rated speeds, since all venice core processors are made in the same process. Intel does this too, and im pretty sure all Processor manufacturers do this.

Even video card people do this, which is why the 6800GT can oc to 6800U levels and beyond. The 6800Us are just cherry picked cores that are garenteed to get the stated clock speeds.
__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 07:17 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

oh btw my budget just changed to 700 dollars! so im guessing ill go with the

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130468
msi k8n neo2 platinum nF3 ultra board

with 1.5 gigs of OCZ performance series ram.

would i go with a 3500+ and OC to a faster speed then a 3000+ or save my money get a 3000+ and use that money else where
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 08:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

probably staying with a 3000+ and getting some case fans and stuff
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 08:44 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice Socket 939 Processor-120
Arctic SIlver Premium Photosynthetic Silver Thermal Compound Arctic Silver 5-8
MSI K8N NEO2 PLATINUM Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce3 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard-119
OCZ Enhanced Latency 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Copper Heatspreader Model OCZ4001024ELDC-K -128
Microsoft Windows XP Home w/Service Pack 2-92 ????

Total $467 with Windows, without $375.
Recommended heatsink and fan

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835118115
cost $48
for a total of $423 without case/psu/windows. It should be free shipping depending on where you live and tax varies from state to state.

Case/PSU/Fans
ASPIRE X-Dreamer II ATXB4KLW-BK Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 420W Power Supply-56
ASPIRE ATX-AS520W BLACK ATX 520W Power Supply-55
3x Antec LED80XFAN 80mm Blue LED Light Cooling Fan-24
If you like these parts cost would be $558 leaving you enough for 2GB of ram or w/e you want. The 3000+ is at 1.8Ghz so it can be easily oc to 2.2Ghz 3500+ speeds, but if you want i think without 2gb, you can get the 3500+
Roger
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:35 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

ok, im definitely going with the

1) amd athlon 64 3000+ (120-OEM)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103537

2) MSI K8N NEO2 PLATINUM Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce3 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard (119)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130468

3) ok, i go with 1 gig of OCZ enhanced latency
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146883

*i dont need windows*

4) seagate hdd 80 gigs 72000 rpm, (83 dollars + 3 dollasr for sata cable)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148039
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812104150

5) Aspire X-infinity silver (52)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811144077

6)Aspire 120mm red led light cooling fan(7.50)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811998123

7)POWMAX 2 80 mm red led light case cooling fan(3.99x2=7.98)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835886008

8) or is the zalman one better?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16835118115
48 dollars- a bit big isnt it?

9) the aspire 500 watt psu/.(45 dollars)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817148005

GRAND TOTAL OF 612 dollars, wow thats cheap for all that stuff. i wonder if i should buy some optical drives instead of using my old ones, and using the old computer for other compuer needs?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:40 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

Are you sure motherboard doesn't come with sata cable? http://www.newegg.com/Product/ShowIm...d%20-%20Retail

Don;t forget AS5. I would get a thermalright xp-90c or xp-120
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:50 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

whoops, the guy said my mobo wouldnt have a sata cable, neither would my hdd. well i guess that saves 3 dollars for me. AS5?<------EDIT: oh artic silver 5 i see<------ i would have to buy a heastink cause the zalman doesnt come with one, its just the fan. OH I SEE. the thermalright xp-120 OH its up to a 64 3200. i see, which one should i go. a thermalright xp-120 for 54 dollasr, or a thermalright xp-90 for... 62 dollars. wow thats expensive really. i probably go with the xp-120
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835109118


http://www.thermalright.com/a_page/m...d_xp120_k8.htm xp-120 is not compatible with my mobo, DARN IT!

xp-90c for 64 3200+ and up?

i may go with this thermaltake fan w/ heatsink

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835106061

seems very good


Arctic SIlver Premium Photosynthetic Silver Thermal Compound Arctic Silver
cant find any of that, only found artic silver 5 thermal compound for 8 dollars OEM.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835100007
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 08:57 AM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

would i have to put one slot between each of these memory sticks, would that mean i cant buy 2 of them. or will they fit onto my mobo

http://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/...82E16820146883

as you see in one of the reviews

"Wow, thats all i gotta say... This memory is just AWOSME at overclocking. Runs smooth and have yet to have a memory failure (aka blue screen of death). 1GB is a LOAD of memory and this can handle almost anything... I do alot of video editing and graphic editing so this performs great.

Only draw back is the heat sinks... on the Motherboard I have to have 1 slot empty between them.

System setup
GIGABYTE GA-K8N Ultra-9
GIGABYTE GV-NX66T128 6600GT
OCZ EL 1GB (2x512mb)
AMD 64 3200+"


if i buy memory with a heatsink would it be in the way for putting them next to each other because i want to dual channel, and to dual channel on this mobo you have to put them next to each other
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.