never seen this.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2004, 05:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Default never seen this....

ok im not sure about this.. but the comp im looking at runs 350mhz. after some tweaking and such to make it run a little better i had the case apart and was looking at the jumpers.
after about 5 min of decideding what to do with them i changed form 1-2 to 2-3 config and restarted.

after this when i started up it went directly to setup and there was a new menu in which i could change the speed from 350mhz to 450. so why i figure why not and change. saved and exited. reset jumpers to 1-2 config and started it back up. after boot i look at speed again and its still at 350.

is this cause i put the jumpers back to 1-2?? but if i left them at 2-3 then it woulda went back to setup. is there a way to keep it at 450 or is this just showing what i can get it up to?

ghostknight3 is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 08:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE

I am guessing that you have an old mother board that has jumpers to change the clock of your cpu. Most of newer ones you can do this in the bios. What mother board do you have, what are the rest of your system specs?

Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 09:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582

if you dont know what those jumpers do then look in your manual... but i agree with the previous post, i just had a motherboard that was the same way, when in one position i could set the FSB from 100-132 then in another 133-165 and finally 166-200... yet it had no option to lock the AGP/PCI bus so i would suggest you dont do any of that, if your board doesnt support locking the AGP bus... also google this program first, it may work for you, its called clockgen.

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 08:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088

Yeah its a low end motherboard that comes with jumpers all right. It wont go any faster because that boost was already used. That boost is at a set speed. Like Base Boost on a radio, either on or off.
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.