Need Step by Step Help Overclocking a P-DS3 and a E6600! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2007, 05:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 382
Send a message via AIM to Fayt19
Default Need Step by Step Help Overclocking a P-DS3 and a E6600!

Hello heres the specs:

E6600 @ 2.4

P-DS3 (F10 bios)

2 GB DDR2 800 cas 5 5-5-15 timings

7950GT 550/1550


I need help with someone who has this board so they can tell me what specs to change.

My system temps are 25C and my CPU is 32-35C all with stock coolers

I dont want Major overclock but i would love to get to at least a 3.0.
__________________

Fayt19 is offline  
Old 02-16-2007, 05:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

Go to bios, go down to motherboard tweaking or something like that. Enable FSB changes, turn off any special settings.

Keep increasing the FSB until you're happy or it's unstable.
__________________

__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Old 02-16-2007, 07:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 382
Send a message via AIM to Fayt19
Default

turn off any special settings?

Edit: How do i test it to see if imy CPU is stable?
Fayt19 is offline  
Old 02-16-2007, 07:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

Prime95 or Orthos, Small FFTs are for the processor, Large FFTs test the memory
__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Old 02-16-2007, 08:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 382
Send a message via AIM to Fayt19
Default

Well what special settings do i turn off?
Fayt19 is offline  
Old 02-16-2007, 08:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

For starters, turn off the autovoltage crap.. it'll up your CPU voltage to unnecessary amounts.

Go through the Advanced Bios Features (iirc), and turn off anything your computer doesn't need.
__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Old 02-16-2007, 08:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 382
Send a message via AIM to Fayt19
Default

idk what my computer doesnt need though ><
Fayt19 is offline  
Old 02-16-2007, 08:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

You'll figure it out later on, don't worry too much about it. Now go push that FSB.

If you do become too unstable, the ds3 will reboot multiple times, then clear cmos and restart on it's own (atleast that's what I think it's doing).
__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 12:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

Raise FSB

Raise Voltage

Raise Ram Timings

Read the guide at the top of this forum and stop wasting other ppl's time, its there for a reason
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 01:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 382
Send a message via AIM to Fayt19
Default

thanks for being rude...people that reply obviously im not wasting their time...i dont force you to reply to posts...

Anyways I lowered my multiplier to 8 and increased my FSB to 400 and increased the voltage to 1.45. i was told that DS3 doesnt like FSB timings 350-400 and it must be true because 350 and 375 didnt work for me and 400 did. got it to a 3.2 and Prime95 worked fine with my CPU temps from 40-43C

So i took it a step further and tried to put it back the multiplier to 9 and keep it at 400 bringing it to a 3.6 but that didnt work not that I expected it too =P. So I turned it back to 8 and FSB to 425. It worked im at 3.4 as we speak. TAT says my CPU temps are at 40-45C on a stock cooler not too bad i guess.

going to run Prime95 to see if everything works out good.

I talked my Wife into letting me get an after market cooler =P.

btw new Super PI 1M - 15.765s =P.
__________________

Fayt19 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.