need some help with oc - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2008, 04:01 AM   #11 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: need some help with oc

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdw1981 View Post
First of all, I myself, hate vista.
But on to your question. have you tried to adjust your Dram frequency? I noticed it still says "auto". You might wanna see if you can lower its setting to still be within your ram's range. And also, have you tried tweaking your O.S. settings from your desktop? Try and see if you can get the "extra" glitz and glammor to go away. Those extras actually bog the performance. Getting rid of those will really pick the speed and performance up noticably. These are my suggestions that I have followed myself.
Honostly though, you, or anyone else for that fact, will find it almost impossible to raise the mark above 3.0 in windows vista of any kind
Quote:
Originally Posted by nightflower View Post
I hate Vista as well. No practical improvement, or maybe it allows more time for you to read books before something is fully loaded.
------------
Vietnam Travel Vietnam Tours
Not to start a vista war here...but neither of you know wtf you're talking about. I, as well as many others here, run vista no problem. I have XP on myd esktop currently, and it gets way more errors than my Vista laptop does. I also have a Vista dual-boot on my desktop, so I can go into either XP or Vista; and have Vista/Ubuntu dual boot on my laptop. Vista on both sysems performs wonderfully....

No practical use? Uh, it's way more easier to work with than XP, I've come to find that out. And there's also a huge security improvement over XP. Point taken: Pwn2Own Hacking contest.... OSX went down within 2 minutes, while Vista lasted around a day or so, while Ubuntu was still not able to be hacked into.

I'm wondering, have either of you actually used Vista? Or are either (or both) of you just been brainwashed into associating the word "vista" with "bad" ?


Anyway...back on topic... Steve, have you tried raising your voltage anymore than it is now? I have a DS3R, and I'm sitting at 3.54GHz w/ my e6750. I have my voltage set to, 1.475 I think is the setting. And I have my overvolts to +2, except for the PCI one.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 08-21-2008, 04:38 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: need some help with oc

the north bridge is at max +0.3 with the ram at +0.2 and the fsb at the max +0.3

also the chip has had a huge jump from 1.32500 volts to 1.33750 to 1.35000 volts and it seemed more then stable at +0.2 on the MCH, FSB, DRAM and the jump from 1.32500 to 1.3750 volts on the chip

as i keep saying i stuck here i've had my ram speed running at 2.0 (668mhz at 3.0ghz) and tryed changeing settings ect

but the lat time i changed the settings it didnt re-boot itself but it got stuck on a loading screen so it was a bit more stable then my last attempts
__________________

__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 08-21-2008, 11:10 AM   #13 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: need some help with oc

Pop out the RAM just to try..
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.