need some advice on building this comp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2005, 08:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Default need some advice on building this comp

hey guys im new to this forum and i was wondering your opinion on this setup i was looking to buy

ASUS A8V-E Deluxe Socket 939 VIA K8T890 ATX AMD Motherboard

Kingston HyperX 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model

AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego Integrated into Chip FSB Socket 939 Processor

eVGa Geforce 6800GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express x16 Video Card

thanks..
__________________

enjoi11 is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 08:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 133
Default

if your gonna over clock, id go with a dfi lan party..

i prefer dfi or gigabyte, your choice..

everything else matches up..
__________________

tylerdrude is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 09:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

asus mobo's are expensive and not really the best, go with the DFI lanparty ULTRA-D, possibly the best gaming mobo yet to date.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 11:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

maybe lower the cpu to a 3200+ venice save some money and still get great performance (dont get pissed if you dont agree)

and get the eVGA 6800gt very nice card very very very nice card
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 12:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Default

thanks for the input.. haha i wouldn't get pissed... thats why i asked for your input... it was much appreciated.... so dfi is better than asus for gaming purpuses? and what is the fsb on that venice cpu?
enjoi11 is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 12:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

DFI is an overclocker's dream. And all Athlon 64's have the same FSB, well, whatever it's called for AMD's. It's on-die, rated at 2000MHz.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 01:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

DFi is better than asus at all purposes

and plus, if you're getting a pci-e 6800GT, then you need a pci-e board (such as the dfi lanparty ultra-d); that asus board is AGP

btw, how much are you getting those hyperX's for?
i'm asking b/c there might be better choices for the money
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.