need opions plz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2005, 07:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 43
Default need opions plz

well right now i have a OEM motherboard.. piece of krap basically

i was wondering if i got a new motherboard, would 8x AGP, dual channel RAM and would 133Mhz from 100 make a big difference?
__________________

gully2005 is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 07:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

What are you going to use with it?
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 08:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 43
Default

well jus gaming, batlefield 2 and other stuff, games like battlefield 2, i have 9600pro but my mobo is so krap, so if i got those upgrades would it make much diff?
gully2005 is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 09:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

well i would say no and i dont know how u could play bf 2 on that system what kinda processor.
By the way this is my 1000'th post guyz thats sicknes!!!!!!
1K and going strong *****es.!!!!!!
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 09:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

1000 posts Timmer.

EDIT: DAMN! Didn't read your post, lol. Was anticipating telling you about your posts too much -.-
Flanker is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 09:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 43
Default

lol well here are my specs

Pentium 4 Northwood A, 2.8Ghz 400FSB 512K L2
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro
(OEM) mobo > GA-SIMLNF
1024MB corsair RAM
80GB HDD

yeah.. everything else krap
gully2005 is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 09:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 413
Default

You wont be all that successful running BF2. I mean you can, cuz my brother has almost the same specs, but it wont run full quality.
algu7344 is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 10:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

your gonna need at least a 6600GT to run it at acceptable quality. My 9600 runs it like crap.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 10:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 43
Default

butt im asking if i get a new mobo will dual channel DDR and 8x AGP make a difference in overall performance?
gully2005 is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 10:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

a very little difference. Probably not even noticable. Your looking at the the wrong parts on which to upgrade. Try to get a better video card first.

Also the difference between 4x and 8x is little.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.