Need a new motherboard, plz help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2005, 03:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 165
Default Need a new motherboard, plz help

I am looking for a new motherboard for my dell dimension 2400. How does putting a new one in work? Does it come with a processor and everything? What all do i need to buy for it? I am looking for one with a n agp 8x or pci-e slots. Plz help me on this topic.
__________________

Manhuntkotor is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 03:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 165
Default

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...banner=inhouse

Is this good? What in the heck does all that stuff mean and what is compatible with it? Cheaper to get a new system?
__________________

Manhuntkotor is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 03:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Why did you decide on getting a new motherboard? How are you so sure that your old one is toast?

If you are adamant about getting a new one, list all of your other parts in the computer, so that we dont have to go searching for all of the specs for your 2400.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 04:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 165
Default

No my old one is not toast. I need an agp slot. IS there like some sort of "adapter" that i can buy that will let me use an agp card on my computer which only has pci slots?

Intel Pentium 4 2.66 ghz
256 mb RAM
Intel INtegrated graphics
Manhuntkotor is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 04:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I dont think that there is any adapter like that.

Here's my recommendation for a motherboard:
http://usa.asus.com/products/mb/sock...e/overview.htm

I have one similar to this, and I find that it is stable and has high performance.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 04:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 165
Default

Does it come with everything i need as in a processor and stuff or do i need to buy it all myself
Manhuntkotor is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 04:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Well, you already have a processor and RAM. The only thing you need is a video card that will fit into the AGP slot.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 04:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

I don't know of any motherboard package that also comes with a proecessor. As far as I know, you'll have to buy everything seperately, but that doesn't mean that there isn't some type of pack containing everything out there somewhere... however it is safe to assume that you need to order everything individually.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 04:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 165
Default

So i can just take the processor out, put it in that one, and the ram too? Do i have to find a motherboard that will accept pc 2700 ram or just get new ram? so is that all i have to do? How did you fix yours up?
Manhuntkotor is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 04:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Yes, you can take the processor out of your Dell and put it in the new motherboard.

The motherboard that I recommended will accept PC2700 RAM. The motherboard can accept up to PC3200 RAM. Obviously the faster the better. If you put PC3200 and PC2700 RAM in the motherboard, both types of RAM will run at PC2700 speeds.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.