Need Moar Overclock! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2015, 09:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 75
Send a message via Yahoo to p2skater1 Send a message via Skype™ to p2skater1
Default Need Moar Overclock!

Hey guys,

So I would Like to further overclock (If possible). These are my main stats:
-Intel Core i5-4460 Haswell Quad-Core 3.2GHz LGA 1150 Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4600 BX80646I54460
-G.SKILL Value 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory
-MSI Gtx 660

I am using MSI Afterburner.

The main question is, how much MHz can I overclock my Memory and Core. I fI overclock those, would I need to increase my Core Voltage (mV)?
__________________

p2skater1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2015, 12:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: Need Moar Overclock!

Well every card is different. Max the fan, max the voltage and power limit, then slowly raise the core.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2015, 12:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 75
Send a message via Yahoo to p2skater1 Send a message via Skype™ to p2skater1
Default Re: Need Moar Overclock!

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Well every card is different. Max the fan, max the voltage and power limit, then slowly raise the core.
Only the core? No memory at all?
p2skater1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2015, 12:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: Need Moar Overclock!

One piece at a time. Also, you get more performance from core clocks.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2015, 03:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 75
Send a message via Yahoo to p2skater1 Send a message via Skype™ to p2skater1
Default Re: Need Moar Overclock!

Recently I have had a screen tearing problem in BF4. My computer is set to V-sync, I normally have 60 or lower ping in the serves I play, I have over 60fps in-game. The only four times I had screen tearing was two time on my whole screen (V-sync fixed those) once in one spot on a map, and in a game, every Chinese Recon would tear. People sat don't overclock if this happens. Also A couple of times my game freezes and I get a message with something like, "Your graphics have failed". What should I do, should I still overclock?
p2skater1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2015, 04:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: Need Moar Overclock!

Driver crashing is a good indication of instability or overheating.

Screen tearing does not happen because of a GPU clock.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2015, 04:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 75
Send a message via Yahoo to p2skater1 Send a message via Skype™ to p2skater1
Default Re: Need Moar Overclock!

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Driver crashing is a good indication of instability or overheating.

Screen tearing does not happen because of a GPU clock.
How do I fix instability as I can just get more fans.

EDIT: Now sometimes my audio gets really messed up and sounds like huge vibrations or static, is that my headset?
__________________

p2skater1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux Gaming = MOAR ph4nt0m117 General Gaming 13 02-10-2015 09:35 AM
overclock the 3000+ Venice or a new cpu to overclock? CorNut New Systems | Building and Buying 9 11-11-2005 07:38 PM
About to Overclock......need advice and patience. MADWAD Overclocking and Modding 75 06-24-2005 10:52 PM
Want to overclock need a guide. sixfeetdeep Overclocking and Modding 2 09-18-2004 09:27 PM
Need PC3200 RAM to Overclock good? Flying_Vortex Overclocking and Modding 25 09-08-2004 10:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.