Need Intel OCing Help pls - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2007, 01:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 482
Default Need Intel OCing Help pls

Well I am looking at spending a crapload on a new upgrade to an E6600 as well as various other stuff and I need info on how to OC an Intel.

All my experience has been with AMD so any tips, tricks, links, stickies that you highly recommend please pass them along. I would prefer to know what I am doing with OCing before I actually get the new system upgrades so that when it arrives I am ready to roll it on up to 3.4ghz+

Also please take a peak at my possible upgrade list so you know what I am workin with: http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...hreadid=140375

Thanx for the help
__________________

__________________
Flying-Squirrel is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 01:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 235
Default

sorry to **** on your fire squire, but the fundamentals are all still there. A change from AMD doesnt change the whole architecture of a PC, you still have such thing as a multiplier, FSB and a voltage. Can you believe it? Intel have a voltage too?!?! Those robbing *******s...
__________________

plant is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 01:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by plant
sorry to **** on your fire squire, but the fundamentals are all still there. A change from AMD doesnt change the whole architecture of a PC, you still have such thing as a multiplier, FSB and a voltage. Can you believe it? Intel have a voltage too?!?! Those robbing *******s...
You don't have to be a douche about it, there are differences.

Everything is pretty much the same. The differences is with the faster DDR2 RAM (I'm assuming you're upgrading from S939, not AM2). The faster frequencies mean you will need to use different combinations of the multiplier and FSB speeds than you're probably used to, but you should be able to get the hang of it soon.

There are tons and tons of threads on how to over clock a C2D, do a little searching and you should find all the answers you need.

Make sure you get a good cooler though, something like the Zalman CNPS9500...C2D's can run pretty warm.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 02:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

oc'ing to 3.6 is no easy task unless your willing to up your voltages to something pretty high, that would be 400 fsb for an e6600.. if you wanna hit that speed easier, i'd go for a e6700, get a more guaranteed chance of hitting it.

but if you've got the balls and cooling, 3.6 is childs play
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 10:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 482
Default

I have considered switching to liquid cooling, however I have never done it before and I don't want to go risking a $3,000 system with a first attempt at water

Currently I have a TT Big Typhoon and AS5 that I have been using on my AMD rig.

As far as the basics being the same... I am not an idiot, I realize that fact. What I was asking was what kind of differences are there, what to expect, etc. etc. because this will be my first experience with ddr2 and with fsb going much higher than what i have had in the past. Anyway, thanks for the replies, let me know if yall think of anything else I should keep in mind.
__________________
Flying-Squirrel is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 10:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

IMO Intel Overclocking (C2d) is much much easier then AMD (939)

And yes I have owned both
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.