Need help with ram not showing as dual channel. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2006, 06:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
Default Need help with ram not showing as dual channel.

Ok, if you read my other post here:

, you can see where all my problems come from. I'm a n00b to all of this.

So I ran CPU-Z to check some stats, and noticed in the memory tab, my channel # was reading Single. I know my memory is Dual Channel.

I tried to fix it myself, and really screwed up badly. I went into BIOS, and turned on some SLI setting for memory. For some reason when my computer booted up again, my CPU clock speed was down to like 2.7ghz (from the 2.88 I had by doing an auto-overclock with the AI Booster program that came with my mobo).

So I tried to compensate, and overclock some more with AI Booster, and eventually, my computer wouldn't boot. I couldn't even get it to go into BIOS, even though it would say "Entering BIOS", it would just hang.

Luckily, I remembered reading in my mobo manual, about clearing some RTC Ram thing, and performed that procedure. It fixed me back to normal, but I'm now back at the default 2.4ghz, memory still reading single, and I'm scared to death to "fiddle" with it anymore.

I've looked into the links provided in my other post, but, I don't know if I'm blind or what, but I still can't seem to find a good "n00b's guide to overclocking", or a "step-by-step guide". All I can seem to find are theories like definations of a front-side bus, multipliers, voltages, etc.

But trying to correlate that with my BIOS isn't exactly the easiest thing to do. Not for a n00b anyway.

I still want to overclock my processor, and get my ram running correctly. Heck, I don't even know if my PCI-Express and video card is running optimally. Perhaps I need help from someone who has the same mobo-cpu combination?

vhayne is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 06:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

your memory was probably in the wrong slots.

Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 08:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
baronvongogo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756

^^yep looking at the mobo pic it looks colour coded so yellow and yellow is dual channel as is black to black. You have probably done yellow and black so its not doing dual channel.
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 03:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11

Thanks a ton guys. That's exactly what the problem was.
vhayne is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.