Need help with overclocking my video card... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2007, 05:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Need help with overclocking my video card...

Well I just realized today that the video card I bought was advertised on Newegg as 625/900. My card is 500/594. I'm ****ed!

I have the Sapphire X1950XT. I'm trying to overclock it to the speeds it should be at. I got to 600MHz core and I got a few artifacts with ATi tray tools. When you get instability with video cards, is there anything you can do, or is that just as far as you can go?
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 12:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Need help with overclocking my video card...

You're suppose to UP both Core and Mem clock. That way it's stable. Try to UP your Mem clock to about 670 and Core clock to 550. They should somewhat be far apart from each other. You should also download the trial version for Everest Ultimate Edition and check how many percent is the VGA overclocked.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 12:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Need help with overclocking my video card...

wow....that's really underclocked. To overclock the graphic card, you should first find the max core clock, before you get artifacts. Then find the max mem clock. When it is unstable, lower the clock, until you get no artifacts. Then lower it by 5-10 to be safe.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 01:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Need help with overclocking my video card...

how do you check for artifacts?
mgcook is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 01:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Need help with overclocking my video card...

Overclocking programs such as ATI Tool, has an artifact scanner. You'll also notice artifacts in games and such, when your graphic card is unstable. The artifacts just look like dots or lines, that you wouldn't normally see on your screen.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 01:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Need help with overclocking my video card...

how well does the artifact scanner work?

does rivatuner have it also?
mgcook is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 02:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Need help with overclocking my video card...

I've used ATI Tool, to overclock all my video cards...and I have to say, it has worked very well for me. Rivatuner, I'm not sure of, because I've never used it.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 04:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Need help with overclocking my video card...

i like rivatuner better, just a personal preference. i like the user interface mucho mas.
rivatuner does not have an artifact scanner. it has a test, and it will tell you if you are too high. another good test is bf2. that wall out of whack? whoa...better turn it down a little. lol.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 06:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Need help with overclocking my video card...

ATI Tool is really simple. Well CrazeD, follow what b1gapl said. I was kind of in a rush to get to my tennis practice so I wasn't able to explain it a bit more clearly.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 07:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Need help with overclocking my video card...

I don't want to have to run more programs than I need to, and ATi tray tools seems to work fine and I use it for some other stuff, so I'm gonna stick with that unless it fails me.

I'm at 580/800 without artifacts, but my 3dMark06 score went down. >_>. Is this because it's unstable? How long should I run the artifact scanner for? If it gets even 1 artifact, is that unstable?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video card and/or motherboard issues sdness Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-13-2008 01:41 AM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
video card overclocking, I have a question AMD6415 Overclocking and Modding 5 06-15-2007 09:58 PM
damaged video card sb14blue Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 03:13 AM
Video Card Overclocking Temp ? veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 10 05-08-2007 03:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.