need help with overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2008, 02:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default need help with overclocking

I am currently overclocked at 3.3ghz and 1.36 volts. I have ran OCCT for over 5 hours without a crash so I would say it is stable. Now when I try and run 3dmark06, it doesn't get past the first test and gives me some kind of graphic error, can't remember what it said. I am pretty sure this has to do with overclocking because I have ran it before.
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 06:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: need help with overclocking

Hmmm, so much information here, it's hard to figure it out........ But i bet you that "error" is the cause.

And seeing as only you've seen it, no one on here knows what it says, and can therefore can't help resolve it.

I've seen some of your OC posts, and they've confused me.. So if you haven't figured out yet, what I'm saying I'll tell you...

Crap in equals crap out.

Be more specific just what you've changed, driver versions, etc.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 06:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: need help with overclocking

and what have you attempted to fix it? Up the vcore a little, and if it runs, then your cpu was not stable.

The stress put on your system by games or 3dmark is not the same as orthos, or prime..
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 07:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: need help with overclocking

I have not attempted to fix it yet. The error I am getting says "IDirect3DDevice9::Present failedevice lost (D3DERR_DEVICELOST)". I have not changed any drivers. This is on the machine in my sig.

I guess I can up the vcore but I am already at 1.36.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 07:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: need help with overclocking

you're on a conroe core. you can safely put it up to 1.55. also, up the fsb volt, and the northbridge.
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 07:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: need help with overclocking

According to CPU-Z, I am running a Kentsfield. How do I up the fsb volt and northbridge?
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 07:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: need help with overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by memory View Post
According to CPU-Z, I am running a Kentsfield. How do I up the fsb volt and northbridge?
oh my bad. 65nm chip is what I meant to say.

and you up those in your BIOS. under.. FSB and NB. under the overvolt section, or where ever you upped your cvore
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 08:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: need help with overclocking

I'll see if I can find that. How much can I raise them to?
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 08:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: need help with overclocking

1.5ish for your fsb, 1.4 or so to start with your nb. It all depends though, every OC is diff
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 04-06-2008, 09:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: need help with overclocking

Did you OC your GPU?

You said you were messing with that...
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
Overclocking a P4 GuitarFreak1857 Overclocking and Modding 7 02-12-2008 01:27 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Overclocking my new AM2 6000+ Lord Lihp Overclocking and Modding 16 08-18-2007 10:37 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.