need help with old pc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2007, 10:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default need help with old pc

ok i have a pc thats 3-4 years old now that i just dont have the money to do anything with it so i was kind of hopeing i could overclock it and just do something to it to make it faster while i save for a new pc

i keep getting a floppy error (40) whitch keeps resetting my bios every few days / weeks (errery is every time i start up pc and reset is once a week / 2 weeks)

here is the pc specs and hdd size ect





i am running a ASUS mobo (dont know whitch one) but i know i have the phineix bios, the chip is ment to be a 2.6 AMD Sempron but i keep getting a floppy drive error (40) and it keeps setting it back to 1.066

the pic is after i did a slight tweak, i am also running a AGP Radon 9600 64 mb graphics card
__________________

__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 07:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: need help with old pc

An old Asus Socket A model where the System Info for Windows(SIW) tool will display all information on the board and other hardwares installed. SIW | System Information for Windows

A flaky bios on an old system is often simply a weak lithium battery on the board itself seeing the loss of cmos information returning the bios to factory defaults. Those are generally DL or CR 2032 batteries found where watches and calculators are sold in retail dept. stores. Radio Shack, even Walmart carries their name on Duracell brand batteries in the jewelry dept. with Eveready Energizer seen in the electronics section.

The error seen for the floppy could easily be the ribbon cable or the drive is simply toast! Those can be found cheap these days from under $10 up online. You can also disable the floppy search option found in the bios setup to avoid the post tests of a bad drive until replaced if needed.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 12-22-2007, 02:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: need help with old pc

why are u still using floppies, like its the 21st century.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 12-22-2007, 11:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: need help with old pc

While many prebuilt systems are now commonly seen without them those that work with OSes other then Windows still have plenty of use for them as well as those running old systems that are too outdated for even XP let alone running Vista on them. But even XP can see a boot floppy or set of 6 initial setup floppies to then see the installer startup if you are unable to set the optical drive as a boot device.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 04:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: need help with old pc

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
why are u still using floppies, like its the 21st century.
note i did not say i was useing floppy disks there small and unstable at best

i am just getting that error, but i just found the usb on my case thats plugged into my mobo has been playing up so i am 99% sure the mobo is on its very last legs
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 07:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: need help with old pc

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
why are u still using floppies, like its the 21st century.
Luke if you can't help then don't post.
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 05:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: need help with old pc

Quote:
Originally Posted by solidsteve View Post
note i did not say i was useing floppy disks there small and unstable at best

i am just getting that error, but i just found the usb on my case thats plugged into my mobo has been playing up so i am 99% sure the mobo is on its very last legs
Front usb ports especially when plugging front or top panel ports in have been known to see problems without the board being bad. What happens at times is the usb bus itself becomes taxed where using the rear ports usually works out the best. If you need to you can even add a usb panel in a pci slot for the extra ports that way.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 04:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: need help with old pc

ok thanks for the posts on that error now i need to get this thing running faster so any suggestions

my mobo is a ASUS A7N8X-X
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 08:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: need help with old pc

I ran the Asus A7N8X Deluxe on one old Socket A build a few years back and never even setup the pair of usbs in the front of the old case there. I kept hearing too many having problems seeing devices used there being detected. Besides the pci type adapter card that usually see a pair of ports on those you can get a good hub for use on one of the rear ports.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 12-24-2007, 08:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: need help with old pc

Speeding it up is the easy part.

Uninstall anything and everything you don't use.

Do some heavy-duty malware scanning (adware, spyware, viruses) and clean up anything that it finds.

Go into MSCONFIG and uncheck everything but what you HAVE to have (A/V, firewall, stuff like that). Apply, OK, reboot. Check the box and hit OK when the gray box comes up at boot.

Do a major defrag. I recommend using a third-party defrag, such as O&O. There is a freeware version and a pro version. The Pro is worth the money, but the freeware one works (just manually, while the Pro version is automatic).

Download BootVis and use it to optimize your startup. It is no longer supported, but Google will find it for you.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.