Need help OC'ing my Q6600 with P35-DS3R ...again - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2014, 12:14 PM   #31 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Need help OC'ing my Q6600 with P35-DS3R ...again

Cpuz is fairly accurate enough but pencil mods were very easy and also very reversible if benefits aren't noticed. I remember mine being very effective back in the day.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 02:36 PM   #32 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: Need help OC'ing my Q6600 with P35-DS3R ...again

Not for earlier boards. When we went to digital PWM and higher end components in lower end boards (Sandy/P67) CPU-Z became more accurate but it isn't always so. It just depends on the board and how accurate it can accommodate for the droop when sending off the response from the sensor.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 07:31 PM   #33 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Need help OC'ing my Q6600 with P35-DS3R ...again

Hey Poizen, thanks for the pencil mod suggestion however I think I will end my oc here.
I doubt my gaming performance or cpu usage speed will increase with more speed.
I think I'm happy with the +1ghz increase in speed.
Only thing is my temps are around 40-45 on idle, but if that's not bad for this cpu then i'm ok with it.
I'll keep trying to lower my voltage and test.
What should my temps not go over on load while running prime?
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 07:56 PM   #34 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: Need help OC'ing my Q6600 with P35-DS3R ...again

40-45 is decent for that CPU, that OC, and on air. You can safely do up to 90c, but I would make sure it doesn't go above 80c. Long as you're around there you're ok.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 08:59 PM   #35 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Need help OC'ing my Q6600 with P35-DS3R ...again

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
40-45 is decent for that CPU, that OC, and on air. You can safely do up to 90c, but I would make sure it doesn't go above 80c. Long as you're around there you're ok.
Alright thanks.
I guess my cpu is never gonna be at 100% all the time like prime so it safe to say i won't get that high.
I might try running prime95 for an hour and see how far it gets.

I just installed another case fan, had one laying around(finally found the screws.
I could add another to the case door however i doubt it will help much.
gpu idles around 35 and gets to 70 on load
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 09:41 PM   #36 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Need help OC'ing my Q6600 with P35-DS3R ...again

The pencil mod will Also help with stability and lowering temps.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2014, 11:55 AM   #37 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Need help OC'ing my Q6600 with P35-DS3R ...again

I feel like i've gotten everything working pretty good.
So far I'm at 1.45 and 3.4ghz.
I feel like if i try messing with it anymore i will loose it all.
I finally got all 4 of my sticks at 800 so that helps too.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 02:39 AM   #38 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Need help OC'ing my Q6600 with P35-DS3R ...again

if that is the case i would stay there very happily and comfortably. Great oc Krazyq!
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 08:41 PM   #39 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default Re: Need help OC'ing my Q6600 with P35-DS3R ...again

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
Alright thanks.
I guess my cpu is never gonna be at 100% all the time like prime so it safe to say i won't get that high.
If you play games like BF4 it will. And no, a Q6600 is not nearly enough CPU to play BF4 well. My 660Ti is bottlenecked big time because of it.
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 08:42 PM   #40 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: Need help OC'ing my Q6600 with P35-DS3R ...again

I've already told him that several times, but he still bought the 760 over the 660
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Noobie OC help on bios setting 4 GA-P35-DS3R mobo avro222 Overclocking and Modding 23 05-27-2008 12:21 PM
Quick reply needed regarding Q6600 and Gigabyte P35 DS3R jonny_uk New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-23-2007 07:29 PM
Overclocking the q6600 on the P35 DS3R VampD New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-11-2007 07:53 AM
OC'ing on a Gigabyte P35-DS3R... carnageX Overclocking and Modding 11 10-03-2007 10:22 PM
Need help p35 ds3r san21893 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 07-27-2007 04:07 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.