Need help OC'ing my Q6600 with P35-DS3R ...again - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2014, 03:13 AM   #11 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Need help OC'ing my Q6600 with P35-DS3R ...again

you have plenty of thermal room to push higher voltage to squeeze 3.4/3.6 i know you can do it! (3.6ghz that is)
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 11:12 AM   #12 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Need help OC'ing my Q6600 with P35-DS3R ...again

I tried setting my voltage to 1.38,39 and 1.4 with my clock at 400X9 and it kept crashing and the first windows flash screen on boot
I then tried 378X9 and then it just failed to boot.
I also raised my DDR +.01 still nothing.
Do I need to raise any of the other voltages? (MCH, etc) or just the CPU and DDR2
So far i'm stable with 300X9 with my ram at 667.

I feel like I ran into this situation years back with the flash screen freezing up, trying to remember how I got my system to 3.8...even though that was temporary, I still got it to boot
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 01:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Need help OC'ing my Q6600 with P35-DS3R ...again

More voltage on the CPU is what I would recommend as long as you are under 1.5v and 90c you aren't causing any harm.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 02:02 PM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default Re: Need help OC'ing my Q6600 with P35-DS3R ...again

Are you running with just the 800 sticks like you said? What voltage is your RAM set to?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 02:46 PM   #15 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Need help OC'ing my Q6600 with P35-DS3R ...again

I tried 400X9 with just 2 of the 800 sticks I have.

- Then I just stuck all my ram sticks in and tried 356X9, and I got a BSOD,
I raised the DDR voltage +.01, Raised CPU to 1.3 and still got a BSOD, not sure if it is that Ram or CPU causing that (My guess Ram)
Right now I'm stable at 345X9, Ram is at 690, no voltages changed.
I ram a 3DMark test and no failures/crashes/bsod...
I did do a quick Prime test and the last core got an error, however the first 3 cores were still being tested.
What test do you guys do, I pick the second or the third one
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 03:05 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default Re: Need help OC'ing my Q6600 with P35-DS3R ...again

Did 400x9 work with just the 800? If it did, then it's RAM. Still though more than likely it's going to be RAM. If you want to raise the clocks of the 667 sticks higher you will need more voltage and probably looser timings too.

I use the test according to what I'm wanting to stress. Usually for basic stability I do combined RAM and CPU.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 03:44 PM   #17 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Need help OC'ing my Q6600 with P35-DS3R ...again

Windows would crash on boot with 400X9 on the 800 sticks even after raising the cpu voltage to 1.4 and ddr up by 1. I guess I will try higher cpu voltage
I get the bsod with the 667 sticks when i'm at 3.2 ghz, i had raised the cpu to 1.3 and ddr up by one.
My default cpu is at 1.28
I have the ram at 5 5 5 15, i guess i could try 5 5 5 18.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 05:04 PM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default Re: Need help OC'ing my Q6600 with P35-DS3R ...again

Do 6 5 5 15 and try the CPU at 1.5v for testing purposes. Also, I need to know what your RAM voltage is. Saying up by 1 could mean anything.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 05:12 PM   #19 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default

Both my sticks have a timing of 5 5 5 15 and 1.8v
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 05:20 PM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default Re: Need help OC'ing my Q6600 with P35-DS3R ...again

And you were trying 400x9 at 1.9v I assume?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Noobie OC help on bios setting 4 GA-P35-DS3R mobo avro222 Overclocking and Modding 23 05-27-2008 12:21 PM
Quick reply needed regarding Q6600 and Gigabyte P35 DS3R jonny_uk New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-23-2007 07:29 PM
Overclocking the q6600 on the P35 DS3R VampD New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-11-2007 07:53 AM
OC'ing on a Gigabyte P35-DS3R... carnageX Overclocking and Modding 11 10-03-2007 10:22 PM
Need help p35 ds3r san21893 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 07-27-2007 04:07 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.